When in Jerusalem…Go Shopping?

_MG_3174

I’ve written about my “fondness” (do you detect the facetiousness in that statement???) for shopping. I’ve also written how my wife loves to shop – so we’ve come to a good accommodation when we shop – she shops and I either people watch or take photos. It works for us!

When you think of going to Jerusalem, though, you may not think that much about shopping. After all, there is so much to see there that is historical and absolutely fascinating! I think you could spend weeks there and not see all that there is to see.

Shopping in Jerusalem, you say? Yes! You can shop in the Old City in endless mazes of tiny shops and bazaars for scarves, knick-knacks, trinkets and the like….but you can also find some shops that have really high quality products, like the shop where I shot today’s photo. Did I buy anything there? No. I didn’t even go in, but shot the picture from outside. Did my wife buy anything there? No. Whew!!!!!!

ON THIS DAY IN HISTORY: in 1962, the first U.S. helicopter was shot down in Vietnam. It was one of 15 helicopters ferrying South Vietnamese Army troops into battle near the village of Hong My in the Mekong Delta.

The first U.S. helicopter unit had arrived in South Vietnam aboard the ferry carrier USNS Core on December 11, 1961. This contingent included 33 Vertol H-21C Shawnee helicopters and 400 air and ground crewmen to operate and maintain them. Their assignment was to airlift South Vietnamese Army troops into combat.

If my calculations are accurate (based on a Wikipedia article) another 5497 would be destroyed/lost before the war came to an end.

TRIVIA FOR TODAY: In 2008, a Canadian man was attacked by a grizzly bear. He survived the attack by playing dead, even when the bear began to gnaw on his scalp. The bear eventually lost interest and went away.

Leave a comment