…an Old Shed

Double click to see a larger version of the image.
Double click to see a larger version of the image.

I see that WordPress has changed and is now forcing me to use their new program to make posts.  I figured this day would come, be avoided it as long as I could.  Seems the option has been removed from me!  Hope this comes out OK!

This last Saturday, my bride and I were planning to go to a cherry blossom festival, but she wasn’t feeling all that great.  She encouraged me to go out and go somewhere on my own.  After some initial resistance, I did just that.  I’d been wanting to get out and shoot some pictures (what wonderful therapy that is for me!!!!) so I grabbed my Canon 7D and headed out the door.  I had no particular destination in mind, but there was a road near us that we’d never taken and I thought that perhaps I might find an old barn or something to photograph.

Well, I didn’t find a barn, but I did find a neat setting that included an old shed, a farm gate, a beautiful green pasture and some other interesting things!  And so today I start with a photo of the shed.

I grew up with sheds similar to this in Iowa on the farm and the farms surrounding ours.  Maybe that’s why I found it interesting…it transported me back across the miles and years to something that I grew up with…and it made me feel at home.  And for me, home is good.

ON THIS DAY IN HISTORY:  in 1980, a floating apartment for oil workers in the North Sea collapsed, killing 123 people.

The Alexander Kielland platform housed 208 men who worked on the nearby Edda oil rig in the Ekofisk field, 235 miles east of Dundee, Scotland. Most of the Phillips Petroleum workers were from Norway, although a few were American and British. The platform, held up by two large pontoons, had bedrooms, kitchens and lounges and provided a place for workers to spend their time when not working. At about 6:30 p.m. on March 30, most of the residents were in the platform’s small theater watching a movie. Although there were gale conditions in the North Sea that evening, no one was expecting that a large wave would collapse and capsize the platform.

The capsizing happened very quickly, within 15 minutes of the collapse, so that many of the workers were unable to make it to the lifeboats. The Royal Air Force of Great Britain and Norwegian military both immediately sent rescue helicopters, but the poor weather made it impossible for them to help. Most of the 123 victims drowned. A subsequent investigation revealed that a previously undetected crack in one of main legs of the platform caused the structure’s collapse. The Alexander Kielland sat in the water for three years before it was salvaged.

Eight years later, a fire and explosion on the Piper Alpha oil rig in the North Sea killed 167 workers.

TRIVIA FOR TODAY:  The largest number of fatalities ever in a production of a film occurred during the shooting of the 1931 filmViking. Twenty-seven people died, including the director and cinematographer, when a ship they were shooting from exploded in the ice off the coast of Newfoundland.  (Do we have a theme here, or what?)

2 thoughts on “…an Old Shed

Leave a Reply

