Colors of the Rainbow

_MG_2238

What is your favorite color?  How does one come to like pink versus dark blue?  Or dark blue instead of light blue?  What is it that affects our choice of a favorite color?  Could it be that we don’t quite all see colors the same way?  Perhaps our ability to perceive color varies as much as the pupil patterns in our eyes.

If you are like me, you have probably changed your favorite color a few times during your life.  When I was a kid, I was all about red.  I loved red!  I still love bright colors like a stunning, shocking red (as in the picture today), but my favorites are now purple and orange.  Why?  I don’t have a clue…I just like them.  I can’t think of any major events in my life that would have caused me to like or dislike any given color.

I guess, bottom line, when you get right down to it we humans are very diverse and each one of us is very unique.  I think that’s grand!

ON THIS DAY IN HISTORY:  in 1914, heavy fog caused a collision of ships on the St. Lawrence River in Canada that kills 1,073 people. Caused by a horrible series of blunders, this was one of the worst maritime disasters in history.

The Empress of Ireland left Quebec on May 28 with 1,057 passengers and 420 crew members on board. At 2:00 a.m. the following morning, the Empress was near Father Point on the St. Lawrence River when thick fog rolled in. A Norwegian coal freighter, the Storstad, was approaching as visibility was reduced to nearly nothing.

Although each ship was aware of the other, the Storstad failed to follow standard procedures for fog conditions, which call for stopping when visibility is drastically reduced. The Storstad only slowed, while the Empress came to a complete stop. TheStorstad hit the Empress mid-ship and sliced through its hull. Captain Thomas Anderson of the Storstad made matters even worse by failing to reverse engines after the crash. He proceeded directly ahead, crushing many people on board and turning the Empress over onto its side. Anderson later told investigators he had feared reversing would have allowed water to rush into the hole.

This was a colossal error. The Empress sank in just 14 minutes, taking the great majority of its passengers with it. Only 217 passengers and 248 crew members survived the collision. The subsequent investigation placed most of the blame on Captain Anderson, but found the Empress had also ignored some critical precautions that would have saved many lives. Because of the risk of collision, the Empress should have sealed its watertight doors, which would have minimized damage from a crash; it did not.

TRIVIA FOR TODAY: Calvin Graham was only 12 years old when he enlisted in the U.S. Navy. He won a Bronze Star and a Purple Heart before the Navy found out how old he was.

2 thoughts on “Colors of the Rainbow

  1. HI Galen,

    Oddly for me I have always loved the same colors. Lavendar and all its light to dark hues is MY color. For me I love colors that make me feel calm and serene or make me feel energetic. I like ‘cool’ colors opposed to warm colors. You may be right we all may see colors a bit differently. The colors I wear are the ones that look good on me. The vase here is stunning in color but not one color on it could I wear. But they are happy colors, Holly

    Sent from Windows Mail

  2. It is true that certain colors tend to evoke emotions. For example, blue, followed by green, are supposed to be the most calming colors. Almost as if the Creator knew that we would need the calming effect of blue sky and water, and green of trees and grass.

    Now here’s another thought: we think colors are just variations in wavelengths of light being reflected off surfaces. But what if colors themselves have emotions (i.e., “happy” colors)?

Leave a Reply

