R.I.P.

_MG_0212

After a long, hard day, there’s not much better than crawling into a warm, comfortable bed and resting.

I get tired more easily than I did when I was younger.  I also don’t have the chiseled(?) body that I once(?) had!  My hair has a fair amount of gray in it and if my beard grows out, there’s a lot of white that shows up on my face.  It is strange: there was recently a video on Facebook of an old man in a convertible who was trying to pick up some younger women sitting on a park bench along the road (it was one of those candid camera types of set-ups), and the old goat looked silly and the women made interesting faces as they saw the guy.  What was spooky to me was the knowledge that if I was to do what that guy was doing, that the women would have a similar reaction to me!!!!  I’d like to think that there once was a day when their reaction would have been positive, but perhaps I’m just hallucinating!

Regardless, there comes a time when things, and people, must rest in peace.  Today’s photo is of an old truck that appears to be leaning against a tree out in the Georgia woods.  Its life has been spent – it will run no more.  It has earned its rest…and I hope when my life has been spent, the same can be said of me!

ON THIS DAY IN HISTORY: in 1879, Little Wolf, often called “the greatest of the fighting Cheyenne,” surrendered to his friend Lieutenant W. P. Clark.

Little Wolf was the chief of the Bowstring Soldiers, an elite Cheyenne military society. From early youth, Little Wolf demonstrated rare bravery and a brilliant understanding of battle tactics. First in conflicts with other Indians wars and then in disputes with the U.S. Army, Little Wolf led dozens of important Cheyenne victories.

Little Wolf was probably involved in the disastrous Fetterman Massacre of 1866, in which the Cheyenne cleverly lured a force of 80 American soldiers out of their Wyoming fort and wiped them out. After Cheyenne attacks finally forced the U.S. military to abandon Fort Phil Kearney, Little Wolf is believed to have led the torching of the fort. He was also a leading participant in the greatest of the Plains Indian victories, the Battle of the Little Bighorn in 1876.

As with many of the other Plains Indian warriors, Little Wolf was finally forced to make peace during the army’s major offensive following the massacre at Little Bighorn. In 1877, the government sent Little Wolf to a reservation in Indian Territory. Disgusted with the meager supplies and conditions on the reservation, in 1878 Little Wolf determined to leave the reservation and head north for the old Cheyenne territory in Wyoming and Montana. Chief Dull Knife and 300 of his followers went with him.

Though Little Wolf and Dull Knife announced that their intentions were peaceful, settlers in the territory feared attack. The government dispatched cavalry forces that attacked the Indians, but Little Wolf’s skillful maneuvers kept casualties low. When the band neared Fort Robinson, Dull Knife and some of his followers stopped. Little Wolf and the rest of the Cheyenne continued to march north to Montana.

In the spring of 1879, while still traveling north, Little Wolf and his followers were overtaken by a cavalry force under the leadership of Captain W.P. Clark, an old friend of Little Wolf’s. The confrontation might have turned violent, but with his force diminished and his people tired, Little Wolf was reluctant to fight. Clark’s civilized and gracious treatment of Little Wolf helped convince the chief that further resistance was pointless, and he agreed to surrender.

After returning to the reservation, Little Wolf briefly served as a scout for General Nelson A. Miles. However, during this time he disgraced himself among his people by killing one of his tribesmen. The formerly celebrated Cheyenne warrior lived out the rest of his life on the reservation but had no official influence among his own people.

TRIVIA FOR TODAY:  According to popular legend, tea was discovered by the Chinese emperor Shennong in 2737 B.C. when a tea leaf fell into his boiling water. The Chinese consider tea to be a necessity of life.

5 thoughts on “R.I.P.

  1. When I was younger I used to hoot and holler at girls out of the car. Why did we do these things, did they ever work in the history of man? Has a woman ever been impressed by a whistle or a cat call, and thought to herself “I gotta be with THIS guy!” :D

  2. Well, when we were younger, we were “stupider” (if that’s a word)!!!! Hopefully, we’ve learned to treat women with more respect than that!!!! By the way, if you are interested in doing a story on Old Car City, I can sent you a bunch of photos….but it’s entirely up to you.

    1. Yes! I would absolutely be interested. I don’t think I’d be able to harvest the usual amount of information I manage, but if there’s lots of photos that’s a good replacement. :)

      Can you email the images, or do you have a different preferred method to share them?

  3. I will need to make them smaller and then maybe I can email them…my camera shoots images that are about 20+ MB each, so I’ll make them 4×6’s and see what I can do to best get them to you. It may be to mail them to you on a DVD. Let me see how many and how large the images would be. Do you have any idea about how many pictures you want to have? How large of photos do you want, too?

Leave a Reply

