Vroom! Vroom!

My knowledge of cars is very limited.  I know where to find the engine (at least on most cars).  Given a minute or two, I can even find the spare tire (if there is one).  Some cars now don’t have spare tires of any kind – they just come with a can of “flat fixer” with compressed air and some kind of gooey junk that gets sprayed into the tire to seal any leak well enough to get a few miles until the tire can be fixed or replaced properly.  So, you see?  They’re all stacking the deck against me and trying to fool me and make me feel exceedingly ignorant.

That doesn’t mean that I can’t appreciate a good looking car, though.  I took today’s picture at the car show in Livermore, and I think that these purply-maroon thingys are part of the carburetor.  Is that right?

Hey…come on, you can’t really blame me for not knowing more about cars!  In my high school years I was too busy playing sports or trying to get dates to hang around with my dad when he was working on one of our cars.  Come on!  What would you rather do?  Try to talk a cute girl into going on a date with you or getting your hands all oily and greasy?

See, maybe I’m not quite as dumb as I look!

_MG_6629

ON THIS DAY IN HISTORY: the best thing that ever happened on November 4 was the birth of my wife, Laurel!  What a wonderful day that was for the world!!!  And if that wasn’t enough, on this day in 1922, Howard Carter discovered the entrance to King Tut’s tomb in the Valley of the Kings in Egypt.  Then, on this date in 2007 (85 years to the day after his tomb being discovered), the boy king’s body was put back into his underground tomb in a glass case so he could rest in peace after traveling the world and being on display.

TRIVIA FOR TODAY: When female wasps return to the colony after foraging, they may initiate aggressive encounters with males and stuff them head first into empty nest cells. Cornell University researchers who observed the behavior call it “male-stuffing,” and believe it contributes to the colony’s fitness by making more food available to larvae.

 

 

One thought on “Vroom! Vroom!”

Leave a Reply

