Children of the Corn

It is a frightening and terrifying thing to be turned inside out.  There have been a few times when I felt that I was being turned inside out…but it never really happened.

One such time was after my heart surgery in 2001. I must say that it was my first major surgery of any kind so it was an altogether new experience for me.  To wit: after I got home from the hospital and went to shave for the first time, as I leaned over the sink, I could swear that I could feel the internal organs in my chest (heart and lungs in particular), fall forward against the inner chest wall.  Was I just imagining it?  I don’t think so.  It was probably still somewhat irritated in there and to this day I think it was real.  It didn’t hurt – it just felt….strange.

Another such time when I thought that I might really be turning inside out was when I sneezed after my surgery.  Now THAT was a feeling that one will never forget!  They give you a pillow at the hospital and they tell you to squeeze it to your chest at any time that you feel like you might sneeze or cough.  The reason: it hurts!  And so the first time that I sneezed and didn’t have a pillow nearby to hold on to, I thought I was quite literally going to be turned inside out!  Fortunately, I stayed right side in!!!

Today’s picture was taken in a corn maze on Saturday.  I have called this picture “Children of the Corn”.  Though it was shot in color, I desaturated it and then inverted it into a negative image as I thought the eyes of the children would be most appropriate that way for Halloween.

If you happen to be passing down the rows of corn, be aware that the children of the corn may still be there…waiting for you!!!

_MG_7176BWON THIS DAY IN HISTORY: in 1965, construction was completed on the Gateway Arch, the spectacular 630-foot-high parabola of stainless steel marking the Jefferson National Expansion Memorial on the waterfront of St. Louis, Missouri.

The Gateway Arch, designed by Finnish-born, American-educated architect Eero Saarinen, was erected to commemorate President Thomas Jefferson’s Louisiana Purchase of 1803 and to celebrate St. Louis’ central role in the rapid westward expansion that followed. As the market and supply point for fur traders and explorers—including the famous Meriwether Lewis and William Clark—the town of St. Louis grew exponentially after the War of 1812, when great numbers of people began to travel by wagon train to seek their fortunes west of the Mississippi River. In 1947-48, Saarinen won a nationwide competition to design a monument honoring the spirit of the western pioneers. In a sad twist of fate, the architect died of a brain tumor in 1961 and did not live to see the construction of his now-famous arch, which began in February 1963. Completed in October 1965, the Gateway Arch cost less than $15 million to build. With foundations sunk 60 feet into the ground, its frame of stressed stainless steel is built to withstand both earthquakes and high winds. An internal tram system takes visitors to the top, where on a clear day they can see up to 30 miles across the winding Mississippi and to the Great Plains to the west. In addition to the Gateway Arch, the Jefferson Expansion Memorial includes the Museum of Westward Expansion and the Old Courthouse of St. Louis, where two of the famous Dred Scott slavery cases were heard in the 1860s.

Today, some 4 million people visit the park each year to wander its nearly 100 acres, soak up some history and take in the breathtaking views from Saarinen’s gleaming arch.

TRIVIA FOR TODAY:  America purchased Alaska from Russia in 1867 for $7,200,000 — about 2 cents an acre.

 

2 thoughts on “Children of the Corn”

  1. Dear Galen, I tried to do what you did with your pic below, this is my 6 yr old great granddaughter. What do you think of my before and after, is it like yours?

    Just wondering if I got it right, I know we have different programs.

    Holly

Leave a Reply

