On the Edge

Are you one of those people who lives life “on the edge”?  I mean, like a base jumper, bungee jumper, Navy Seal, astronaut, free-swim with sharks, crocodile-wrestling kind of person?  Someone who can’t seem to tempt fate enough with all sorts of daring-do?

I’m not.  I never have been.  I won’t jump out of a perfectly good airplane even if I have a parachute and am attached to a jump instructor.  Shoot, I won’t hardly try something new at a restaurant!  I’m a creature of habit…as long as they are safe and sane habits.

What is the most daring thing that I’ve done in my life?  (Does getting married or having kids count?)  I honestly don’t know.  Maybe it was when I was in my late teens and early 20’s when some friends and I would go wading out in a Florida lake at 5:30 a.m. in the morning until we were chest deep in the water and we’d throw top water lures back in towards the lilies and reeds in pursuit of large mouth bass.  What was daring about that, you ask?  Well, if you don’t care about water moccasins, copper heads and alligators, not much, I guess.  But we did it quite a bit.  Looking back on it now, I can see where it probably wasn’t all that smart of a thing to do.

Now, for my really clumsy transition to today’s picture: when I took the shots of these leaves on some vines, I liked the way that the light lit up the rather scalloped looking edges.  And, that made me think of living life on the edge.

Maybe I’ll have to consider taking up something really daring lest you all think that I’m no fun.  (No comments on that, please!)  I think perhaps I should take up sudoku or shuffleboard.  I heard that that’s a very dangerous sport.  You could slip on the puck or get whacked in the head with the pusher-thingy.  See?  I’m starting to think like a daredevil!

_MG_7016ON THIS DAY IN HISTORY: in 1989, an earthquake hit the San Francisco Bay Area, killing 67 people and causing more than $5 billion in damages. Though this was one of the most powerful and destructive earthquakes ever to hit a populated area of the United States, the death toll was quite small.

The proximity of the San Andreas Fault to San Francisco was well-known for most of the 20th century, but the knowledge did not stop the construction of many un-reinforced brick buildings in the area. Finally, in 1972, revised building codes forced new structures to be built to withstand earthquakes. The new regulations also called for older buildings to be retrofitted to meet the new standards, but the expense involved made these projects a low priority for the community.

Just prior to a World Series game between the Oakland Athletics and San Francisco Giants, a 7.1-magnitude tremor centered near Loma Prieta Peak in the Santa Cruz Mountains rocked the region from Santa Cruz to Oakland. Though the stadium withstood the shaking, much of the rest of San Francisco was not so fortunate.

The Bay Bridge and the Nimitz freeway, both featuring double-decker construction, saw a collapse of the upper deck.  Forty-one of the 67 fatalities of this disaster were motorists on the lower level of the Nimitz, who were killed when the upper level of the road collapsed and crushed them in their cars. Only one person was killed on the Bay Bridge–which had been scheduled for a retrofitting the following week–because there were no cars under the section that collapsed.

TRIVIA FOR TODAY: Traditionally, a Jewish baby is not named for a living person. There is a concern that the “Angel of Death” will mistake the infant for the older person if the names are the same.

Leave a Reply

