Body-less Women of Treasure Island

There are very strange things in this world, things that strain the credibility and imagination.  Many times they are flukes or clever things designed to deceive us and trick us into believing things that aren’t true.

Do you remember the story of the “Headless Horseman of Sleepy Hollow”?  It was rather a terrifying story made even more frightening when it hit the big screen.  Creepy stuff.

Well, we all know that it’s just a story, right?  Not real.  But on Saturday I personally ran across three body-less women on Treasure Island in the middle of San Francisco bay!  If I hadn’t seen it myself I wouldn’t have believed it was possible, but there they were, watching me with their upturned faces as I passed by.

Eerie.  When I took my eyes off them, I heard them speak to me, but every time I turned back, there was no movement of their lips or mouths.  They looked as dead as one of those heads you put a wig upon.  But then, when I turned to go on my way again, I once more heard voices.

I had to take a picture of them to prove their existence, and here it is: (oh, wait….I wonder if those voices were from others who were attending the flea market and not from these heads at all?????)

_MG_4884ON THIS DAY IN HISTORY: in 1920, the 19th Amendment to the Constitution of the United States, guaranteeing women the right to vote, is formally adopted by proclamation of Secretary of State Bainbridge Colby. The amendment was the culmination of more than 70 years of struggle by woman suffragists. Its two sections read simply: “The right of citizens of the United States to vote shall not be denied or abridged by the United States or by any State on account of sex” and “Congress shall have power to enforce this article by appropriate legislation.”

It was a good day!

TRIVIA FOR TODAY:  The Japanese business environment requires strict adherence to rules of etiquette. Graduating students prepare for important job interviews by first learning how to bow properly and show proper manners when entering and seating themselves in the interview room.  Gotta hand it to those Japanese….they really know how to prepare for an interview!!!!

 

Leave a Reply

