Up, Up and Away!

Oh, how I wish I could fly!!!!  I think that my great desire to fly has probably been the cause of my many dreams in which I was able to fly by just thinking about it.  No matter where I was in my dreams, I could just think something along these lines: “I want to float up to the ceiling” and – voila! – I would slowly lift off from our mother ship Earth and find myself soaring among the rafters, everyone else staring up at me in rapt wonder and awe!  You see, in my dreams, I don’t think that I’ve ever had anyone else “fly” with me.  If you have had “flying” dreams before, did you fly solo or were you accompanied by others?  (I wonder that is determined by whether you are a highly private introvert or an extrovert?  I am, you see, an introvert by nature, so maybe that’s why I “fly” alone.)

Back in the day of my teen years, a group called The Fifth Dimension sang a song (Up, Up and Away) that was immensely popular, reaching #7 on the Pop Charts and earning 4 Grammy’s in 1968, including Record of the Year and Song of the Year.  Though probably not quite as popular as Aquarius/Let The Sunshine In that topped the Hot 100, the song went partly like this:

Would you like to ride in my beautiful balloon
Would you like to ride in my beautiful balloon
We could float among the stars together, you and I
For we can fly we can fly
Up, up and away
My beautiful, my beautiful balloon!

I shot today’s picture last Saturday from behind a column/fountain that had a female figurine on the top of it with her arms outspread like wings.  She looks like she’s ready to take to the air, up, up and away…just as I do in my dreams.  I have no idea who she is supposed to be or what she is to represent, but she looks light and free.  I hope you are light and free this weekend and that you find some time to soar among the clouds!

_MG_4001ON THIS DAY IN HISTORY: On this day in 1969, members of Charles Manson’s cult kill five people in movie director Roman Polanski’s Beverly Hills, California, home, including Polanski’s pregnant wife, actress Sharon Tate. Less than two days later, the group killed again, murdering supermarket executive Leno LaBianca and his wife Rosemary in their home. The savage crimes shocked the nation and, strangely, turned Charles Manson into a criminal icon.

After initially eluding police suspicion, Manson was arrested only after one of his followers, already in jail on a different charge, started bragging about what had happened. Manson’s subsequent trial became a national spectacle, in which he exhibited bizarre and violent behavior. In 1971, he was convicted and given the death penalty; however, that sentence became life behind bars when the California Supreme Court overturned the death penalty in 1972.

Manson has been the subject of numerous movies and books, including the best-seller Helter Skelter (the title is a reference to a Beatles’ song of the same name, through which Manson believed the group was sending secret messages to start a race war). Manson remains in a California prison.

TRIVIA FOR TODAY: Why are white rhino’s called “white” when they are gray?  It is thought that the name “white rhinoceros” comes from a misinterpretation, by English settlers, of the Afrikaans word, “weit”, and the Boer word, “wijdt”, both of which actually mean “wide”. This was to describe the rhino’s broad, square lips, not the color of the animal.

Leave a Reply

