Weird Things

OK.  I’ll admit it.  I like things that are a bit out of the ordinary, things that are weird.  Does that surprise any of you who know me?  Really?  I mean, if it does, you don’t really know me all that well.

I like things that are mysterious, out of the ordinary, things that have a mystique surrounding them.  Always have and I guess I always will.  I like to ponder over things that just don’t make much sense to me (or others), to roll them around between my ears (there’s lots of empty space in there!) and see what comes out of it (usually just puzzlement!)

When I was at the Egyptian museum in San Jose, they had some weird art in there.  I mean W-E-I-R-D.  I’m sure that all the symbols and images mean something to those who are “in the know”, but they had nothing to do with Egypt and we just flat out bizarre.   But you know what?   Being like I am (a lover of weirdness), I found them interesting.  I liked the colors that they used if not the compositions themselves.

Today I’m featuring one of the paintings that I photographed.  I shot this one because I liked the colors and it wasn’t quite as strange as some of the others.  What do you think this is about?  Where is the doorway leading?  What’s that stuff on the pathway?  Comments are welcome…

_MG_3999ON THIS DAY IN HISTORY:  On this day in 1947, Kon-Tiki, a balsa wood raft captained by Norwegian anthropologist Thor Heyerdahl, completes a 4,300-mile, 101-day journey from Peru to Raroia in the Tuamotu Archipelago, near Tahiti. Heyerdahl wanted to prove his theory that prehistoric South Americans could have colonized the Polynesian islands by drifting on ocean currents.

While Heyerdahl’s work was never embraced by most scholars, he remained a popular public figure and was voted “Norwegian of the Century” in his homeland. He died at age 87 on April 18, 2002, in Italy. The raft from his famous 1947 expedition is housed at the Kon-Tiki Museum in Oslo, Norway.  (No offense to anyone of Norwegian descent, but how much competition was there for the “Norwegian of the Century”, I wonder?)

TRIVIA FOR TODAY: why would you put black over a bee hive?  Apparently there is a strong bond between bees and their keepers, and if you fail to do this after a death in your family, superstition says that your bees will leave the hive and not produce any more honey for you. There are many other superstitions surrounding bees, the most interesting one being that bees will attack adulterers, while a woman who is untouched by man may walk among them without being stung.

 

2 thoughts on “Weird Things

Leave a Reply

