Perfect

There are moments that we wish we could capture forever, aren’t there?  Sometimes we have a camera (a lot more common now with smartphones!) to capture it and that allows us to relive it over and over.  But there’s a problem with just a picture: it can’t bring back the feel of the breeze on the skin, the scents in the air, the sounds drifting and washing all around you.  Those things are left for memory – and as with most things having to do with memory, it fades and dims over time.

Still, the picture is better than nothing.  It can help to evoke the other sensations that one was feeling at the time.

I didn’t take today’s photo.  I was in it!  That’s me on the right – and my 4 year old granddaughter on the left.  This was taken along the beach in Laguna Nigel as the sun was setting in the background.  It was a glorious evening – beautiful, gentle breezes, a steady but soft surf, the sound of gulls wheeling overhead and of the water gurgling over the sand.  I don’t really care that much about those things though, at least not when I think of this picture.  My thoughts are captivated by my granddaughter and how much fun she was having.  That’s what I want to remember!

It was a great silhouette shot, one that I will treasure forever.  I had purposely gone down to the beach that evening in order to get some silhouettes of my son and granddaughter (and I did!), never expecting that I’d wind up in some of them.  I’m so glad I did!

_MG_3501ON THIS DAY IN HISTORY: On this day in 1885, just after completing his memoirs, Civil War hero and former President Ulysses S. Grant died of throat cancer.

TRIVIA FOR TODAY: The military salute is a motion that evolved from medieval times, when  knights in armor raised their visors to reveal their identity.

 

One thought on “Perfect

  1. Aren’t children wonderful and trusting? She is not afraid of falling backwards or the sun setting and it getting dark or the big waves coming up to take her away she is just drifting along with a breeze,and having a wonderful time putting all her trust in the people she loves and treat her good. I thin children are just the most wonderful gift God could have ever given to us.Imagine the nuts that hurt their kids and how that wonderful trust is broken what a feeling for a child to ever have to have. God is good Your family are beautiful people and care for each other the children can grow to beautiful adults in this kind of atmosphere God Bless you her and Tim and all the Dalrymple family for knowing love,trust and God!!!!These children will grow up strong and give the same to their babies.Love is the key!! Psalms:139

Leave a Reply

