Purple Haze

“Purple Haze was in my brain,
lately things don’t seem the same,
actin’ funny but I don’t know why
‘scuse me while I kiss the sky.” – Jimi Hendrix

Don’t get me wrong…just because I quoted the lyrics to Purple Haze doesn’t mean that I like that song.  Do I remember it?  Sure…but I always thought the last line of that verse was “‘scuse me while I kiss this guy”!  Guess I was wrong about that one.

So why the heck am I talking about Purple Haze?  Just because I love the color purple, for one, and because today’s photo made me think about Purple Haze.  See, there is a logic – even if it’s a bit hard to follow – to the way my mind works!

This work of art was on display at a hotel where I recently stayed.  I took numerous pictures inside this hotel (it was fancy!) and you’ll see more of them in the future, but it’s past time for the normal publication of this post today and I like the color and hopefully you will to.  The big question on my mind is simply this: How much did the hotel pay for this work of “art”?  I guess if you have to ask you probably can’t afford it to start with and I wouldn’t really want the whole thing – just the purple background.  You can have the rest.  But I feel rather confident that they paid a lot more for this work of art than I paid for my camera and lenses!!!!

Now, ‘scuse me while I kiss the sky!!!!

rsz__mg_3186ON THIS DAY IN HISTORY: On July 17, 1967, one of the oddest musical pairings in history comes to an end when Jimi Hendrix dropped out as the opening act for teenybopper sensations The Monkees.

TRIVIA FOR TODAY: Warner Communications paid $28 million for the copyright  to the song Happy Birthday.

 

One thought on “Purple Haze

  1. Who would have ever thought?? I guess Warner is making 2 million a year on the song Happy Birthday!!! Such trivial small things that happen to people who already have money the foolishness of this world is the money of the rich and famous,God is a God of the poor yet he shall supply all my needs according to His riches and glory in Christ Jesus!

Leave a Reply

