Snooty

Some pictures just speak for themselves, but that never stopped me from commenting on them anyway.  Today’s photo is just such a picture….

This ray was photographed through the glass at SeaWorld in San Diego.  I didn’t even know the critter was coming when all of a sudden it swooped up from below the window and it was all I could do to fire off a this shot before it disappeared upward!

I got to thinking: how would I feel if I looked like this?  (Now, now…no smart comments from the peanut gallery!!!!)  Talk about a snout!!!  And the mouth isn’t exactly dainty.  The nostrils are rather too large and the eyes are, well, a bit creepy!  But you know what?  There’s another ray out there somewhere that thinks this is a beauty queen!

Isn’t it great they way that there is someone to love even the most “homely” among us?  I mean, I’m not really anyone’s Brad Pitt or George Clooney (no, really, I’m not!!!! – well, if  you insist, maybe I am!!!!)  But there is someone who loves me in spite of how I look.  How did I get to be so lucky?  I dunno.  But I sure am grateful that she’s able to overlook all my rough edges (like strange eyes, ears, nose, having sleep apnea and requiring a machine at night to sleep, my graying hair and hearing and memory that aren’t as sharp as they once were).  Wow…now that I start to look at that list, it truly is a marvel, isn’t it?

I’m so lucky!!!!  Thanks, babe….

_MG_3685ON THIS DAY IN  HISTORY: on July 16, 1969, at 9:32 a.m. EDT, Apollo 11, the first U.S. lunar landing mission, is launched from Cape Canaveral, Florida, on a historic journey to the surface of the moon. After traveling 240,000 miles in 76 hours, Apollo 11 entered into a lunar orbit on July 19.  Of course, the rest, as they say, is history as the late Neil Armstrong and Buzz Aldrin stepped out onto the surface of another heavenly body for the first time in human history.  What an exciting time it was!!!!1

TRIVIA FOR TODAY: In ancient Greece , tossing an  apple to a girl was a traditional proposal of marriage. Catching it meant  she accepted.  (I wonder what it meant if she was just a klutz and couldn’t catch?  Could she verbally agree under those conditions?)

 

Leave a Reply

