Bacon! I Smell Bacon!

Pork and beans.  Pork tenderloins.  Pork chops.  Pulled pork.  Pork ribs.  Smoked pork.  BBQ’d pork.  Bacon bits.  Bacon!

There isn’t much that can compare with the smell of bacon being cooked over a campfire (or even in the kitchen!)  I am sure that there are people who don’t like that smell, but I think I’ve never met anyone who felt that way!  I love that smell!  (Remember the commercial about the dog who smells some kind of bacon-flavored treat?)

Well, after seeing today’s photo of an Iowa hog, you may change your mind.  I mean, let’s face it – we all know pigs love dirt and mud and that they are not the cleanest of animals, nor are they raised in the cleanest of places.  But they do taste good!

This porcine creature is getting a drink of water out of an automatic watering spigot.  Slurp, slurp!  I took the photo during the recent family reunion in Iowa.  I’m just glad that all my Iowa relatives have pretty much given up raising hogs (except for a few pigs they raise for personal consumption or for the 4H at the fair).  At least now my cousins don’t smell like pigs!

rsz__mg_2771ON THIS DAY IN HISTORY: in 1930, construction began on the Hoover Dam in Nevada.

TRIVIA FOR TODAY: zero is the only number that cannot be  represented by Roman numerals.

 

One thought on “Bacon! I Smell Bacon!”

Leave a Reply

