A Cool Change

It was July of 1997 when The Little River Band released their song “Cool Change.”  Here’s some of the lyrics to help jog your memory:

“If there’s one thing
In my life that’s missing
It’s the time that I spend alone
Sailing on the cool
And bright clear water.

It’s kind of a special feeling
Out on the sea alone
Staring at the full moon
Like a lover.

Time for a cool change
I know that it’s time for a cool change
Now that my life is so prearranged
I know that it’s time for a cool change.”

I share that, not because I’m into sailing (I get sea-sick too easily to be a sailor!), but because here in California, we’ve been through a brutal heat wave this past week.  Thankfully, starting on Thursday, it cooled down!!!  It was a welcome “cool change” even though we’re still in the 90’s!  Starting with a week ago yesterday, we had six straight days where the coolest daytime high was 103 degrees.

As I was contemplating a picture to share with you today, I came across this picture that I shot at the end of May at Ellery Lake in the Sierra Nevada.  Ellery Lake is situated at 9538 feet on highway 120 shortly after you pass through the high country of Yosemite National Park and immediately before you begin the descent down towards the small town of Lee Vining on the eastern side of the Sierra.  It is one of my favorite places as I have spent many wonderful hours camping and fishing there.  As I looked at the picture today, I actually could feel the coolness of the day when I shot the picture.  Lovely…

(I am temporarily using a new tool to downsize my pictures for this blog, so I hope this works okay…)

rsz_1rsz__mg_2257ON THIS DAY IN HISTORY: in 1975, John Lennon and Paul McCartney met one another for the first time.  The rest, as they say, is history!

TRIVIA FOR TODAY: there’s more than one way to quit smoking.  Each year 2,000,000 smokers either quit smoking or die of  tobacco-related diseases.

 

One thought on “A Cool Change

  1. Seems like life is so much of a struggle,cold then hot I can remember as a child Spring and Fall ,real days that were really something, you could really feel the difference. The winter was hard and cold but to come inside and warm by the stove felt so very kind and comforting. I can remember fighting for the best place when the door was opened to warm my hands:) Then the Spring, the rains came but then the sun would shine it never rained for three weeks like this year and last. You could smell the rain and it to brought memories and comfort along with sadness for things that were not any more. Summer was all about the beaches and fun in the parks. Doll carriage contests and pie eating contest even the best bike had a prize for it.Fountains in the park and on Main street to refresh when you were dry and thirsty,they are no more:( We did respect others property and even walked the older people across the streets Once I got belted for trying to help this lady across she was adamant that I was not going to make her look foolish:)We learned in schools not to count on our fingers or cheat, now today you can see the test first and study for it and use a calculator.I remember standing in the corner now and then for laughing in class etc. Fall makes me think of “The Fall of Freddie The Leaf” and how he wanted to just hang on for a while but he learned like the rest it is better to let go, it was all part of being.As bad as it can get it gets better because it gets easier as we age and go through the fall of our lives we in time see there is nothing we can do but let go and let God! This is why it is better to be prepared for all weather and all things this life throws at us and just except it and smile:) for nothing can we change but our hearts minds:) Peace!

Leave a Reply

