Golden Sunset

I hope that you’ve had a wonderful Fourth of July!!!!

We often think of sunrises and sunsets as being beautiful when you are in the mountains, at a lake or the ocean beach.  Truly, they can be spectacular.  One of my favorite visual memories ever is of a sunset in the California delta.  But, then I can’t rule out the sunsets at Hanalei Bay on K’auai, Hawaii, either!

You don’t have to be at some exotic location, though, to be moved by a sunset.  This is a photo of the sun setting at my cousin’s farm outside of Jamaica, Iowa (I guess I could have just said I shot this in Jamaica and you might have thought it was an exotic destination, eh?)

Anyway, it was a glorious day, cool, the shadows were getting long and the golden colors of the sunset were painting everything with beauty.  So, as is my wont, I shot it.

_MG_2873_4_5_fusedON THIS DAY IN HISTORY:  in 1832 – at Boston’s Park Street Church, the song, “America,” was publicly sung for the first time. The words were written by Dr. Samuel Francis Smith who borrowed the tune from a German songbook. Unknown to Dr. Smith, the melody was the same as the British national anthem.

TRIVIA FOR TODAY: gold is the only metal that does not rust, even if it’s buried in the ground for thousands of years.

6 thoughts on “Golden Sunset

  1. Did you say gold does rust? Or did you mean it does not rust? If it does rust I am sick to my stomach,do you know how many people Me included have thrown jewelry away that was rusty thinking it was cheap??? Hello!!!

Leave a Reply

