On the Back Side of a Barn

Farmsteads are photographic treasures.  The older the farm and the buildings the better.  It’s even great if the buildings are near collapse, or if the premises has been abandoned for some time or if it is suffering from maintenance neglect.  Things tend to accumulate beside the outer (and inner) walls of barns and they can make for some interesting scenes.

This weekend I was at a family reunion and I stayed with one of my cousins on Saturday night.  Sunday morning I got up and went outside with my camera to snoop around a machine shed.  On Friday, I’d noticed some interesting things hanging on the inside walls and I wanted to be sure to get pictures of them before I had to return home.  Time didn’t permit me that luxury on Friday, so I made a point of it early this morning (Sunday).  You’ll see some of those in the next week or so, but what I’m sharing today was on the backside of that same machine shed.

I loved the way the colors came through, and the living and dead things that are in the picture which goes together to make the composition more intriguing.  In a way, it told the story of our family reunion.  There are very few of the “Greatest Generation” still living in our family, and only one was able to make it to the reunion this time.  That means that my generation is nearly the oldest generation.  This past year we lost three of the cousins.  It could get depressing, like the dead, inanimate things in this picture, but we had little children scampering around the reunion, laughing, cuddling stuffed animals, being fed while sitting on mom or dad’s lap.  It was a reminder of the tremendous resilience of life, the pugnacious tenacity that though the years and generations roll past, life renews itself over and over again, just as the green plants that are co-existing with the dead or worn objects in the photo.  It is beautiful…thoroughly lovely.  I hope I will treasure it more than I have.

I hope you had a good weekend.  I sure did! _MG_3064ON THIS DAY IN HISTORY: in 1520, Montezuma II, the last Aztec emperor, was killed during the Spanish conquest of Mexico.

TRIVIA FOR TODAY: Grand Rapids, Michigan is the “SpaghettiOs Capital of the World” because per-capita consumption is highest in that city, per the Franco-American company. Reportedly, there are more than 1,750 “O’s” in a 15-ounce can of SpaghettiOs.

 

Leave a Reply

