Wood You?

There were many sights, tastes, sounds and smells of Africa that I will never forget.  Africa is like another planet…so foreign to an American mind and western eyes.  Unfortunately, while I had hoped to get pictures of African wildlife, in Ghana, pretty much all the wild animals that one pictures in Africa (elephants, giraffes, rhinos, hippos, etc.) were eaten for food long ago.  It is sad and it was disappointing, but it is hard to blame the African people for eating what they could find.  When it comes to feeding one’s children or even yourself, my guess is that we would all do the same if we had found ourselves in their situation.

As a result, I don’t have “wildlife” pictures per se to share.  I have lots of photos of people (especially children and women) and of other things, but not wildlife.  Today’s photo is a termite hill.  You don’t have to go very far before you see your first termite mounds.  They capture your vision rather quickly because they rise up to heights of 10-12 feet.  They are, of course, chock full of termites, and in fact, if it is made out of wood in Africa, you can bet that the termites will soon find it (they even found the wooden slats that were on the bunk bed in which I slept…I’d come in every evening and find a nice pile of sawdust laying on top of my sheets!)

As I was sitting outside with my Liberian friend, Alfred, we saw a termite on the ground.  I commented on it and Alfred proceeded to tell me how delicious they are and how high they are in protein.  I didn’t eat any…nor did Alfred (as far as I know) while we were there.  But, if you have a hankerin’ for eatin’ some termites, I know where you can find a bunch!  I even have a friend who can tell you how to cook ’em!

_MG_1042ON THIS DAY IN HISTORY: in 1835, P. T. Barnum and his circus began their first tour of the United States.

TRIVIA FOR TODAY: If an object has no molecules, the concept of temperature is meaningless. That’s why it’s technically incorrect to speak of the “cold of outer space” — space has no temperature, and is known as a “temperature sink,” meaning it drains heat out of things.

 

Leave a Reply

