Of Vines and Tomato Soup Walls

Do you like tomato soup?  It was never my favorite, but I do recall as a child when we lived in Iowa that my mother would, on a cold winter day, heat up some tomato soup and make grilled cheese sandwiches for my sister and I to eat as we sat in the kitchen of our small farmhouse.  The combination of tomato soup and grilled cheese sandwiches has stuck with me all these years.

Don’t get me wrong..I don’t love tomato soup.  I’d much rather eat cream of mushroom soup, bacon and potato soup, or Olive Garden’s Zuppa Toscana (probably my all time favorite).

Sometimes I see something that is about the same color as tomato soup and it takes me back to those lunches on cold Iowa days.  I had an experience somewhat like that this past week when I saw the side of a building that was tomato soup colored, but what caught my attention wasn’t so much the soup color but the intricate and intriguing vines that had grown and attached themselves to the wall, and then seem to have died.  They almost formed a latticework on the wall.  I thought it fascinating…even if the wall was the color of tomato soup instead of zuppa Toscana!

VinesAndTomatoSoupON THIS DAY IN HISTORY: in 1922, Mahatma Gandhi was sentenced to six years in prison for his civil disobedience campaign.

TRIVIA FOR TODAY: there is only one known species of ostrich in the entire world, the order of Struthioniformes.

 

Leave a Reply

