It Makes You Wonder

Have you ever looked at a piece of art and wondered what was in the mind of the artist when he/she created it?  I mean, I can look at some art and not have a clue – it’s nothing more than a hodge-podge of colors or textures running every which way.  Maybe they were thinking about the complexity of life and how it seems to move in every which way except a straight line.  I don’t know.

But less stylized, modernistic art is something that I have more appreciation for.  It is easier to understand, and with my simple mind, I need simple things to be able to feel a connection.

This piece of art was hanging on the wall inside Rancho La Paloma in Tecate, Mexico.  It had been there staring at me for several days before I finally took this shot.  Judging from the face and the tears running down from the eyes, I think the artist was in some sort of pain – mental, emotional, physical – I don’t know, but that would be my guess.  If that is the case, I hope that by the morning after they made this work of art that they were finding reason to smile and laugh again.

May your weekend be filled with joy!

_MG_0633ON THIS DAY IN HISTORY: in 1758, mustard was first advertised for sale in what would become the United States.

TRIVIA FOR TODAY: About 25 percent of all male Americans between the ages of 10 and 15 were “gainfully employed” at the turn of the century. By 1970, so few in that age bracket were employed that the U.S. Census Bureau did not bother to make inquiries about them.

 

2 thoughts on “It Makes You Wonder

Leave a Reply

