K.I.S.S.

No, the title isn’t about the rock band.  It’s about Keeping It Simple Stupid.  (Substitute something else for “stupid” if you wish, like “sweetheart” or “smartypants”.)

I believe more-so with each passing day that we Americans have made our lives much more complicated than they need to be.  We have done that mostly with amassing “stuff”.  We like to think that we own it … but I think that often, it winds up “owning” us.  You buy all the appliances and what happens?  They sell you extended warranties (which still have deductibles.) and the appliances still break and have to be repaired.  The more clothes we have, the more clothes we have to wash.  The more cars we own, the bigger out insurance, gas, maintenance and repair bills.  The more electronic gizmos we have, the more we want – and we want the newest ones, of course, as soon as they come out!

Don’t get me wrong.  I’ve been like that for years.  But recently, for a variety of reasons, my wife and I decided to simplify our lives.  When we moved from Cloverdale to Georgia last year, we got rid of a TON of stuff.  When we moved from Georgia back to California at the end of August, we got rid of a TON more stuff.  Then, when we moved from Cloverdale to where we now reside, we got rid of multiple TONS of more stuff!  And we didn’t add to the pile in the meantime!!!!

We downsized.  We want to live bi-coastally so we can be near all our kids and grand kids at least some of the time.  Rather than renting a house to fill up with stuff again, we got a fifth-wheel and are full-timing it, living by choice in our fifth wheel.  For the time being (most of 2013) we’ll be sitting in one place…and that’s simple, too.

How are we doing?  So far, so good. It’s been an interesting transition, and felt wonderfully “freeing” to not have so much junk!  My wife hasn’t killed me or even yelled at me yet.  I’ve not yelled at her.  The dog is doing fine.  We even got a sign proclaiming our new “simple life” and hung it outside by the front of the fifth-wheel (oops…we bought that, didn’t we?!?!?!  See how hard it is to not buy more “stuff”?)  Along with that sign is the “Welcome” sign with the cut-out shape of my favorite breed of dog – boxers.

So, if you happen to drive by and see this sign – drop on in and say “Hi!”  We’re not fancy…but we sure do love our family and friends!

SimpleLifeON THIS DAY IN HISTORY: in 1971, the three-man US spacecraft Apollo 14 was launched to the moon.  The astronauts landed on February 5 and made two moonwalks. It was the first launch of the Apollo since the nearly disastrous Apollo 13 mission.

TRIVIA FOR TODAY: It would take 11 Empire State Buildings, stacked one on top of the other, to measure the Gulf of Mexico at its deepest point.

 

5 thoughts on “K.I.S.S.

  1. Now I know what I want in life sell my house get a Winnebago and see the world or stay by the ocean and parks etc.What a great idea I wonder if Texas has this?I swear this year is my last one in Maine I am going top a warmer climate,rent out my house or sell and go!And just think I can walk all year long and stay thin YES!@!!!

Leave a Reply

