What Happened?

I had a really strange thing happen to me today.  Do you remember the scene from Indiana Jones: The Last Crusade where he and Marcus and Dr. Schneider (the blond German lady archaeologist) are in an ancient building/church/library in Venice and they are searching for the tomb of a dead crusader?  The crusader, if you recall, was buried under the floor of what used to be the church but which is now a library.  Jones figures out that there is a large “X” on the floor and determines that it is the entrance to the crusader’s tomb.  Only problem is that there’s a stone tile flood that they must break through in order to get to the entrance to the catacomb.  So, Jones picks up a stand that’s nearby and proceeds to slam it against the floor to break through.

Elsewhere in the library is a clerk with a rubber stamp in one hand and he starts to stamp some books at the same time Jones is slamming the stand into the floor.  Every time that he stamps a book, Jones slams the floor!  And the clerk looks at the rubber stamp in his hand (he reminded me of Einstein in his appearance), trying to figure out where all the noise is coming from.

Well, I had a similar experience upon arriving at work today.  I had just gotten out of my truck and at the very instant that I pushed the Lock button to lock up the cab, I was greeted with a horrendously loud noise…I mean exactly, precisely at the moment I pushed the button!  My first reaction was that something was horribly wrong with the truck – that perhaps it was going to blow up.  My second reaction was to look at my lock button.  Then, I realized that it was a Union Pacific train on the track immediately across the road from the office and he’d hit his incredibly LOUD horn at the exact, precise moment that I pressed my lock button!  I couldn’t help but laugh when I realized what was happening!  It reminded me immediately of the Indiana Jones movie!!!!

So, what does that have to do with my picture for today?  Absolutely nothing.  Today’s photo was taken in the early morning light at an orchard close to where we’re living.  No trains attached!

_MG_0539ON THIS DAY IN HISTORY: in 41 A.D.,  Gaius Caesar (Caligula), who began his reign in 37 A.D., was murdered.  Caligula, or “Little Boots”, succeeded Tiberius and became so unpopular he was assassinated by Cassius Chaerea at the Palatine Games.  Don’t feel bad for Little Boots – he was a VERY bad man.

TRIVIA FOR TODAY: New York City, named by Americans as the most dangerous, least attractive, and rudest city in a recent poll, is also, strangely enough, Americans’ top choice as the city where they would most like to live or visit on vacation.

 

Leave a Reply

