Light and Darkness

I don’t pretend to be a physicist, in fact, somehow I escaped ever taking a physics class in high school or college.  Perhaps that’s because I hate math and complex calculations and besides, I found girls (at least in high school – I was married in college!) much more interesting!  (Well, in college I found my wife much more interesting than math, too!  And the best part is that she’s still much more interesting than math, but maybe harder to understand at times!)

Anyway, on Friday night (the same night I shot the picture of the owls from yesterday’s post), the sun was going down.  It was the evening “golden hour” for photography.  As we walked the pooch along the gravel road through the preserve here, I saw the sun going down, shining through the trees that were between us and the river/sun.  As I have always found silhouettes interesting, I thought I’d fire off the shutter and see what came out.  I was pleased with the result so I’m sharing it with you today.

What does that have to do with physics?  Well, looking at the picture, one might be tempted to believe that there are two kinds of principles at work in the light and shadows of the trees that is on the grass in the foreground.  That would be an incorrect assumption, however.

What is darkness?  Darkness is nothing more than the absence of light.  Light, however, has an existence of its own and it has mass, too.  Light exists regardless of whether or not darkness does, but darkness can only exist if there is no light.

So, when looking at the light and shadows on the grass, bear in mind that the light is what’s shining, not the shadows.  They’re just on their way to disappearing as the light goes away.  I think I’ll do a bit more exploring of silhouettes.  In fact, I shot a couple more the same night.  This one is only a partial silhouette because you can make our some detail in the dark areas.

_MG_0510ON THIS DAY IN HISTORY:  The movie, “In Old Arizona”, the first full-length talking picture filmed outside, was released. The outdoor scenes were filmed in Utah and California.

TRIVIA FOR TODAY: The term “happy-go-lucky” has been in existence since 1665.

Leave a Reply

