A True Princess

I grew up in a two-child family.  My older sister and I comprised the kids (duh!).  So, all my life, I believed that the perfect sized family was a mom, dad and two kids.

As it turns out, my wife and I had two sons, born not quite three years apart.  I was happy – there was only myself and one other male cousin in the direct family who could have sons who would carry on the Dalrymple name.  I was content with the size of our family.  There was only one problem: my wife always wanted to have a little girl, so she wanted to try to have a girl.  I steadfastly refused.

Six years passed that way and I finally got it through my thick skull that having a daughter was REALLY important to her and that in a major way and I began to see that not having a daughter would be a huge loss in her life.  But I was afraid that if we had another child that it would be another boy – and she’d still want a girl!  Besides, we’d been out of the diapers and spit-up stage for years by then.

Still, I finally concluded that I couldn’t deny my wife something that meant so much to her, so we agreed to adopt a girl.  We worked with a wonderful international adoption agency called Holt International.  From the time we started the process until the baby girl was in our arms as…get this…nine months!  And, to top it all off, when we were shown her picture, we learned she’d been born on our anniversary!!!!

From the instant we saw her picture, she was “our” little girl.  She arrived from South Korea on a flight to LA when she was 4 months old.

Let me say this: it was one of the very best things we ever did in our entire lives!  She became my Princess…and she is a true princess to this day…and I mean that in the very best possible way!  MY life would not have been complete without her…I know that now.

I just spoke with her this afternoon on my way home from work.  It made my heart sing to hear her voice.

Isn’t my daughter beautiful?  I LOVE you, my Princess!!!!

ATruePrincessON THIS DAY IN HISTORY: in 1966, a US B-52 bomber collided in mid-air with a refueling tanker over Spain.  Eight were killed and an H-bomb fell into the Atlantic Ocean.  The bomb was recovered (or so we were told) a month later.

TRIVIA FOR TODAY:  President William McKinley always wore a red carnation in his lapel for luck.

 

6 thoughts on “A True Princess

Leave a Reply

