You Rock, Girl!

OK, I’m about to show my age here, but do you remember some of the great all-girl rock bands?  I’m talkin’ like, Diana Ross and the Supremes, Martha and the Vandella’s, the incredible Pointer Sisters, and a few bands that were lesser stars in the Play-tone galaxy of stars, including the Bangles.

One of my favorite all-girl songs of all time was the Bangles’ Walk Like an Egyptian.  I loved the Pointer Sisters I’m So Excited, He’s So Shy, Slow Hand, Automatic, Jump, Neutron Dance…great stuff!!!  They had it going.

But, I must say that hands-down my favorite all-time, all-girl rock band is in my photo today.  This picture was taken last July 4 when we were still living in Georgia.  I can’t remember if we were just celebrating July 4 or if there was also a birthday, but this is a picture of my two littlest grand-daughter in their party hats and the youngest holding a maraca in her hand.  You saw a picture of the big sis with her child-version Karaoke microphone a couple of days ago, belting out a heart-felt saga of young love.  The two of them together make quite a dynamic duo!  The best all-girl rock band ever!!!!

AllGirlRockBandON THIS DAY IN HISTORY: in 1559, Elizabeth Tudor, daughter of Henry VIII and Anne Bolyen, was crowned at Westminster Abbey as Elizabeth I.

TRIVIA FOR TODAY: Upon her death in 1967, writer Dorothy Parker left most of her estate to civil rights leader Martin Luther King, Jr. She left her ashes to writer Lillian Hellman, who reportedly never claimed them.

 

2 thoughts on “You Rock, Girl!

  1. One looks like Tim one looks like her mom!! Dolling girls and very smart. Bella does Karaoke with me to and she can’t carry a tune in a wet paper bag but she is so cute and I love her:) I am sending you a song we do together and Tim can do it with the girls or his wife. Later!!

Leave a Reply

