I Need a Songbird

OK, folks…I’m not feeling very well this evening.  You know how it is when you feel like the aches and pains of flu are starting to sneak their way into your muscles and bones?  Well, that’s me tonight.  It’s been growing all day long…and now I feel like the pits.

So, I’m just going to share a picture that makes my heart happy and feel good, even if the rest of me feels cruddy.  This is one of my grand-daughters on the day that she got a “Karaoke” microphone.  It was so fun to watch her transmogrify from the very bouncy, energetic, beautiful girl she is into a sultry songbird as soon as the microphone hit her hands!

It (SHE) makes me smile!  I will love her always!!!!!!

SongbirdON THIS DAY IN HISTORY: Composer Stephen Foster was found critically ill in his hotel room three days earlier, and on this date, died in Bellevue Hospital, New York, at age 37. He only had 35 cents in his pocket, along with a little slip of paper on which he had written, “Dear friends and gentle hearts.” While never a great composer, Foster wrote many of the popular songs of the era which remained a part of Americana for more than a century, including Jeannie with the Light Brown Hair, Oh! Susanna, My Old Kentucky Home, and Old Folks at Home, also known as Swanee River. He became a heavy drinker, suffered from tuberculosis, and lapsed into obscurity. His last song, Beautiful Dreamer, which he penned just a few days before his death, joined his earlier classics.

TRIVIA FOR TODAY: The early European umbrellas were made of wood or whalebone and covered with alpaca or oiled canvas.

4 thoughts on “I Need a Songbird

  1. Did you get your flu shot like you said you would before you moved???? If you want to avoid the flu get it in August it won ‘t bother you as much. I got mine in August and had the baby get hers in intervals but she has not been sick thus far and the flu is in epidemic proportions in the USA right now. Get well and stay safe! ME! Psalms:4 get rest!

Leave a Reply

