Yellowstone Falls

It was back in 2008 when I was last in Yellowstone National Park.  We came into the park from a different direction (the north) than we’d entered before, so we got to see a part of the park that was new to us.  I’ve been there on at least 2 (if not 3) occasions and I must say that it is such a huge park that I feel I’ve barely scratched the surface.

Of course there is Old Faithful – a highlight for any tourist to this wonderful place.  There are the sulphur mud pots, other geysers, beautiful rivers, lakes, ponds, mountains and hills.  It is a lovely place – one you should go see if you get the chance.

As my arm is still quite painful tonight (yes, for those who asked, I’m going back to the doctor again in the morning), I’m not writing a lot today.  Therefore, I present you with this picture, taken with my old Sony Alpha A-100 DSLR (before I got my Canon).

Yellowstone

ON THIS DAY IN HISTORY: in 1777, General George Washington settled his troops in for the winter at Valley Forge, PA.  I know all about it – or at least I pretended to – when I was in 7th grade.  I had a book report that was due in my history class and I hadn’t read a book, so I made up an entire book, Blood in the Snow, the name of an author, plot, etc., and wrote my book report on that fictional work of my imagination.  I got an A.  (But I paid for it with a guilty conscience.)

TRIVIA FOR TODAY: Rubies and sapphires are both made of corundum, the second hardest mineral after diamond.

 

Leave a Reply

