Down, Boy!

Isn’t it interesting the way things happen to us and we often don’t know what it was or how it happened.  That’s been my life story for the past 2 days.

I woke up Monday with a pain behind my right shoulder-blade.  I didn’t thing too much of it to start, but as the day went on, it got worse and worse.  I tried Advil and ibuprofen – all to no avail. I could have been eating Life Saver candies for all the good the pain meds did.  By Monday night, it wasn’t just the pain in the shoulder-blade area, but my armpit was hurting like the dickens, too.

Tuesday morning it was all I could do to get out of bed – it was hurting that badly.  In fact, even before I hit the shower, I called the doctor’s office to get any kind of appointment I could.  Fortunately, they were able to get me in at 9:45.

I was hurtin’ so much by the time we got there that they promptly filled a syringe with morphine and jabbed it into my left shoulder.  They took an EKG, blood pressure, etc., and sent me packing off to the ER so they could better determine what was going on (with my family history of heart trouble, they wanted to be overly cautious, I’m sure).  It was still hurting a lot, so they gave me some Dilaudid via IV.  I soon started to feel less pain (or, as the ER doc said, I didn’t care about the pain because of the meds).  So, they ruled out a bunch of stuff and sent me packing with a prescription for Vicodin for on-going pain relief.

With the morphine and Dilaudid and Vicodin, I spent most of the afternoon doing what Lucy is doing in this picture: laying down.  Except I was mostly asleep. I’m thinkin’ that maybe “a dog’s life” isn’t so bad after all.

_MG_9890

ON THIS DAY IN HISTORY: in 1865, the 13th Amendment to the US Constitution was ratified, outlawing slavery in the United States.  It is presently the major theme of the movie, Lincoln.

TRIVIA FOR TODAY: Gabrielle “Coco” Chanel introduced her perfume to the world, known as Chanel No. 5.  It is the most popular fragrance in the world.  She skipped straight to #5 as it was her favorite number.  It just happened to be her lucky number, so it was launched on the fifth day of the fifth month of the year.

 

5 thoughts on “Down, Boy!

  1. So what was going on with the shoulder pain — pinched nerve — sprain —
    Gee it would be a shame not to be able to lift a fork to eat your Christmas meal
    Marcia

    1. Hi, Beth. Ice/heat don’t seem to make much difference. They did give me pain pills, but I am loathe to take them for obvious reasons. The injection of morphine on Tuesday helped for a while, but then I had to start taking the pills anyway. Laurel has been watching over me like a mother hen to make sure I don’t overdo it and make it worse. I’m kinda stubborn and hate to have to rely on others to do stuff for me…typical guy thing, right?

  2. So Galen, I have to ask…… what was the problem and how are you?? Hope you and Laurel are going to enjoy the holidays and the coming year! Juli

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

