Thorny Problems

It is interesting the way we talk about problems.  Sometimes we say we’ve got a “tough” problem, or a “difficult” problem (which is rather redundant, isn’t it?)  We call some problems big and some small, but do you ever hear anyone call a problem a “medium problem”?  I don’t believe I have.  Problems are either big or small, but never medium!!!  That makes me suspect that either we blow problems up to bigger-than-life size or they really aren’t problems at all.

I remember as a child hearing the stories about Brer Rabbit.  As memory serves (or in my case, doesn’t!) at one point I think he got stuck in a thorn patch.  I never thought that sounded like much fun because as a child in Iowa, we had Canadian thistles on the farm and they were sharp and pointy and it was what I envisioned a briar patch would be like.  Since I’d never seen a cactus in person, I had no other frame of reference.

Today’s photo is of a hedge of cactus at Vallejo’s adobe in Petaluma, CA.  The plants, for the most part, were as high or higher than a standing human.  This gives me another picture as I think about the ol’ rabbit of the story.  To get stuck in something like this would surely qualify as a “thorny problem”!!!

ON THIS DAY IN HISTORY: in 1582, poet and playwright William Shakespeare married Anne Hathaway.  (Not the same Anne Hathaway as in the upcoming movie Les Mis!  She’s much to young to marry such an old geezer!!!!)

TRIVIA FOR TODAY: just in case you were wondering (you probably weren’t), boogers are made of mucous.  Your nose alone makes about a cupful for mucous every day to keep your nasal passages moist and to trap particles trying to sneak your way into your body.

 

Leave a Reply

