Now That’s What I’m Talkin’ About

It seemed this year that the nice color was missing in the vineyards.  I must say that if I compare it to last year, this year doesn’t measure up.  For whatever reason (I’m told it has to do with severe and significant weather changes at that right time), the color this year just hasn’t measured up.  Two or three weeks ago, I was talking to my wife as we were driving down highway 101 that the colors this year seemed rather dull and dingy.  She agreed.

Maybe we complained just a bit too soon, or we were just too impatient, because now the colors are better.  I won’t say that they equal last year (which was the best year for color in the vineyards that’d I’d seen in our 9 years here), but they are beautiful in spots now.  I don’t know if they’ll get much better than this for this fall because so many of the leaves have already fallen, but there are some really pretty vineyards at the moment.

Today’s photo was taken next to the Trione winery on the east side of highway 101.  I took it on Saturday when Laurel was gone with my sister to, well, you guessed it, shop.

Maybe tomorrow I’ll share a picture that I took using a new technique called focus stacking.  It’s rather interesting.  I’ve only tried it twice, and I have a way to go before I’m good at it, but it offers some really exciting possibilities for a photographer when used with the right type of scene.

But for now, on to the vineyard!!!!

ON THIS DAY IN HISTORY: in 1949, Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer hit the music charts, becoming THE musical hit of the holiday season.  Gene Autry’s version was the most popular, but it’s been recorded over 80 times and over 20 million copies have been sold.

TRIVIA FOR TODAY: Americans consume 353 million pounds of turkey during National Turkey Lover’s Month (June), but over 675 million pounds during Thanksgiving (and some years, I think I’ve eaten half that amount all by myself…but not this year!)

4 thoughts on “Now That’s What I’m Talkin’ About”

      1. I have been. I will be! I don’t know enough of the details to be a judge of that. If I were you, I’d ask your pastor/priest for guidance. It is a real issue.

Leave a Reply

