Glorious

I can’t explain it, but this time of year just delights me.  It is probably a combination of the heat of the summer wearing off, the turning of the leaves, the nip in the air, the greening of the grass (that’s what happens in California in the fall/winter)…it all goes together to create a mesmerizing world in which to live and move.

On Friday afternoon, my wife needed to do a bit of shopping, so I took her and dropped her off where she wanted to go, and I took my camera and headed out into the vineyards.  It started out as an overcast, drizzly morning, but by the time I reached my destination it was clearing and some blue sky was peeking through.  The scenery was wonderful…I had such a marvelous time.  Alas, such things must end all too soon…I can’t stay out shooting pictures forever because other things call for my attention.

But, before I gave it up for the day, I came across this stunningly beautiful setting for a home.  I thought it was gorgeous…sort of what Paradise might look like.  Mind you, I really don’t know what Paradise will be like, but if it were even a bit like this, I know it’ll be worth the wait.

This, by the way, is an HDR image…it was much darker than this scene makes it appear to be, so I opted to use the image-blending capability of HDR.  Even then, HDR only covers a range of perhaps 6 exposure levels of light simultaneously while the human eye can distinguish something along the lines of 20 exposure levels of light at once.  Still, I’m not complaining…I think it turned out to be a gorgeous shot.

ON THIS DAY IN HISTORY: in 1477, William Caxton produced the first printed book in the English language: “The Dictes and Sayengis of the Phylosophers.”  (Shucks…I hoped it was “See Spot Run!”)

TRIVIA FOR TODAY:  a car uses 1.6 ounces of gasoline when it idles for one minute.  It takes just half-an-ounce to start the average car.

3 thoughts on “Glorious”

  1. Galen,this picture is Perfect!!! You could make post cards of places in California and fall writing cards.This one is soooo beautiful I love it!! It has warmth and beauty a feeling of completeness and solitude.It has elegance and comfort.Thanks for Sharing:)! Happy Thanks Giving!!! That’s what the picture says!! Blessings and Peace!!

  2. Wow Galen, you outdid yourself. This is beautiful and deserves to be at the Citrus Fair this year for a ribbon. Kincade (the painter) woulddefinitely use this as a model! Just stunning! Bravo sir!

    Juli P.S. Wishing you and Laurel a wonderful Thanksgiving and Christmas!

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

