Hang on Tight, It’s Gonna Get Bumpy

Well, tomorrow is election day in the United States.  Hallelujah for that!  I can’t wait, as I said last week, for this thing to be over.  I’m tired of the sound bites, ads, attacks, news reports, accusations and muck-raking.  I’m ready to get this done with.

Have you ever found yourself in a situation where you had to hold on to something or face injury or death?  Rock climbers do it all the time.  I am not a rock climber, but I feel as if I’ve just been hanging on to my sanity (though some would question if I had any to hang on to to start with) until this election is over.  I am sure that if my guy doesn’t win, I’ll be discouraged and depressed on Wednesday, but I suspect that I’ll still wake up on Wednesday regardless of who wins.  I suspect that nearly all of us will find that life goes on after the election.  It always has.

Anyway, on Friday, we had a bit of time to poke around the vineyards.  The color just isn’t the same as it was last year, but we still got some nice shots anyway.  I’ll be sharing some of them with you in the next week or two. But when I saw the subject of today’s photo, it instantly sparked in my mind the importance of “hanging on”.  If this little bit of a vine can hang on, I suspect that we can hold on just a bit longer and that this bitter election will soon be a thing of the past!

ON THIS DAY IN HISTORY: in 1842, Abraham Lincoln married Mary Todd in Springfield, Illinois.

TRIVIA FOR TODAY: a “jiffy” is an actual unit of time measurement, representing 1/100th of a second.

 

2 thoughts on “Hang on Tight, It’s Gonna Get Bumpy

  1. Boy you really are a wreck tomorrow isn’t election day it is Tuesday so one more day to get on your nerves,and one more day to get my heater fixed in my car,but your right no matter what Wednesday will come and it won’t make a difference. It will be hard to anyone that gets in because it is a mess so I don’t expect miracle hope no one else does,There is nothing new under the sun:)

Leave a Reply

