Here’s Dirt In Your Eye

Isn’t that a strange saying?  “Here’s dirt in your eye!” or a variation, “Here’s mud in your eye!”  It makes me wonder who would be so mean as to put dirt in someone else’s eye?!?!  Of course, we could dredge up images of the 98-pound weakling trying to escape the clutches of the much larger bully by throwing sand in the bad guy’s face.  But in that case, it’d be “Here’s sand in your eye!”, right?

So, being my normal, curious self, I tried to find out what it meant.  Some say it’s just a toast offered over a drink with no meaning.  Others say that it’s a way of wishing someone well – which sounded strange – until someone else linked it with the story in the New Testament of when a blind man came to Jesus who proceeded to spit on the ground and smear mud on the man’s eyes with the result being that the man had his sight restored.  (There was a persistent belief among the ancient Jews that spit had medicinal value – and even today, poultices are often applied for healing purposes.)  So, I guess, given that reference, I can see where it could be wishing someone well.

But, other than the fact that in my picture today you can see “dirt” (like small fibers of cotton) on the (eye on the left side of the picture) of the Cloverdale Green Giant that I photographed yesterday, my title has nothing to do with all that.  Double-click the picture a couple of times and you’ll be able to clearly see the “lint” like stuff.

My first reaction was, “Ouch!  That looks like that must hurt when he blinks!”  But then I realized that this kind of critter doesn’t have eyelids to blink with!!!  Knowing that, I can sleep better tonight…unless I have visions of those bright red eyes glaring at me!!!!

ON THIS DAY IN HISTORY: in 1959, Wilt “the Stilt” Chamberlain started a record streak of playing in 799 consecutive games – and he didn’t foul out of even one of them

TRIVIA FOR TODAY: in the last 4000 years, no new animals have been domesticated.

Leave a Reply

