Plaster Never Looked So Good

I’ve made the confession before and I’ll make it again: when it comes to artistic ability, I have none.  Zilch.  Zero.  Nada.  It’s not that I don’t want to have any artistic ability.  I just got in the wrong line when they were handing that out.  I must have been in the line at that time for “Ridiculously Rugged, Handsome and Manly Good Looks with Lots of Brains and Athletic Talent.”  I remember it taking a long time to get through that line, and I just didn’t have time afterwards to get to the “Artistic Ability” line before they closed for the day.  Oh, well, I guess I’m not too upset about that trade.

Still, when I see something that I think is really well done, I admire it.  I appreciate it.  And it makes we wish I had those kinds of skills for even a short time.

When I read The Agony and the Ecstasy for fun when I was in high school, Michelangelo impressed the socks off me (but maybe I didn’t wear too many socks in the summertime in high school).  To have the kind of talent he did at such a young age overwhelmed me.  I felt like a total bozo…here I was about the same age he was when he was already creating amazing art.  That’s OK.  All I’ve got to say about that is this: “Where is he today?”

Today’s photo was taken on Saturday at the northern California Renaissance Fair down near Hollister.  There was a booth there where you could buy plaster faces or other shapes and paint them.  They had several examples hanging up on a nearby tree or booth back-drop, and I was sufficiently impressed with them that I took some pictures.  This one wasn’t the most colorful (as you’ll see eventually), but it was perhaps the most beautiful in an aesthetic way, I think.  It almost looks as if it is a real woman’s face with some colorful mud/masque on it of some kind.  Anyway, I liked it.  And since I’m the one posting here, you have to humor me!

ON THIS DAY IN HISTORY: in 1354, Cola di Rienzo, a tribune of Rome, was killed after trying to introduce changes for the common good into the governance of the city.  Who killed him?  The ruling nobles who felt threatened…seems like not much has changed since then, eh?

TRIVIA FOR TODAY: mallards will build their nests in trees up to 40 feet off the ground, which is pretty amazing when you consider that the babies have to eventually get out of the nest…and it’s a long way down!!!  Surprisingly, though they may fall as much as 40 feet to the ground, they very seldom are injured!

One thought on “Plaster Never Looked So Good”

Leave a Reply

