Face of Life #2

Today I share another one of the faces I saw in India that struck me.  This time, the subject was an old man.  How old was he?  I really don’t know.  It is very possible that he was much younger than he looks…I have a hunch that the manner of life he lives has aged him prematurely.  If nothing else, the merciless heat of the Indian sun has weathered and chiseled his features.  He was coming up out of a pool of water after a baptism – that explains the matted down hair and drop of water on the lobe of his ear.  I thought his beard, white and sparse, was fascinating, as was the look of hope in his eyes.  He’s not given up…and I suspect he won’t!

It is interesting: when I was young, people told me that they thought I looked older than I was.  Nowadays, people usually tell me that I look younger than I really am.  Maybe they’re just being nice…  If so, I really don’t mind!

ON THIS DAY IN HISTORY: in 1854, the first great Atlantic Ocean passenger liner occurred as the ship, Arctic, sank with the loss of 300 lives.

TRIVIA FOR TODAY: the modern basis for the aura that surrounds Friday the 13th stems from Friday, October 13, 1307.  On that date, the pope, in conjunction with the King of France, carried out a secret death warrant against the “Knights Templar”, who were terminated en masse as heretics, never again to hold the power that they had held for so long.

4 thoughts on “Face of Life #2

  1. Was he an Dominican Monk? If so I forgot his name:( But you can tell the story?? I was just reading about this a while ago tonight all about the termplers and Masons they go way beck to Moses you know.Napolian was part of dirty doing to back then . Well don’t keep it a secert I need to know!!!

      1. Oh I re-read it and thouoght you meant some one who the French and Romans killed and you were loking for the answer:) Sorry in both cases.

Leave a Reply

