Waiting

One of the hardest things we do as human beings is to wait.  I remember how hard it was to wait until Christmas.  And then, since my birthday is at the end of June, I could hardly wait until Christmas.  Soon, I could hardly wait to start school.  Then I couldn’t wait until summer rolled around and my days were free.  I couldn’t wait until I got my driver’s license, until I got my first car, until I got married, until our babies arrived.  Then, when we learned our daughter and daughter-in-law’s were expecting, we couldn’t wait until our grandbabies arrived.

Waiting is HARD, and we have to do a lot of it.  It may even be as simple as having to wait for dinner, or the weekend.  We wait.

For little children, learning to wait is a very hard thing.  It’s one of the things that makes it hard for really young children to fall in love with fishing.  If fish would bite every minute as long as you had a line in the water, that would be one thing, but fish are picky.  And little ones haven’t learned the virtues and values of waiting.

Here’s a picture of my youngest son, Tim, and his little girl the very first time she went fishing, the first cast of the day.  One of the most important lessons a father can teach his children is patience.  There is value in learning to wait for good things and for things we want rather than settling for immediate gratification.

Learning to wait…

ON THIS DAY IN HISTORY: in 1940, the new Civil Aeronautics Administration gave honorary license #1 to Orville Wright.

TRIVIA FOR TODAY: the hypodermic needle, invented in 1853, was originally used by doctors to give injections of morphine.  They believe that it wouldn’t be addictive if it was injected and bypassed the digestive system.

Leave a Reply

