A Hazy Shade of Winter

They are lyrics I could sing in my sleep.  I grew up with them as did my high school classmates.  I’ve written before about what I consider the most amazing explosion of great popular music in history: the period of the 60’s-70’s.  Just recall a few of the names: Elvis Presley, the Beatles, the Rolling Stones, the Animals, Gerry and the Pacemakers, the Who, the Supremes, Peter/Paul/Mary, the Four Tops, Simon and Garfunkel…and the list could go on and on and on.  It was an era of unequalled musical creativity and sound.

I was listening to some Simon and Garfunkel this afternoon on my headphones.  My, how it took me back!  I could see the faces of my friends (most still living, but some now gone) at the parties we attended in high school where their music would be playing.  The faces in my mind were still young.  We were thin.  We were healthy.  We were excited about the future and the seemingly endless possibilities that awaited us just around the corner.

Then, Hazy Shade of Winter came on.  The lyrics always moved me in some way that I couldn’t describe as a teenager, partly because as teens, we cannot envision or imagine the fall/winter of our lives.  We couldn’t imagine heart problems, diabetes, strokes, anurysms, or cancer.  Such things, we believed, would never be able to touch us.

Now, we know better.  Here’s some of the lyrics to the song.  It’ll probably stir memories in your heart if you lived through those turbulent, wonderful, amazing times as I did.

Time, time, time, see what’s become of me
While I looked around
For my possibilities
I was so hard to please
But look around, leaves are brown
And the sky is a hazy shade of winter.

Clouds gather and fall and winter come…

ON THIS DAY IN HISTORY: in 1040, King Duncan was murdered by Macbeth, who went on to rule for 17 years.

TRIVIA FOR TODAY:  in 1909, American Annie Smith Peck, 57 years young, became the first person to climb 21,000 foot Mt. Huascaran, the highest peak in Peru.

2 thoughts on “A Hazy Shade of Winter

  1. Always the seasons bring on the question of why? Why do we get older why do we have to change clothes to winter Why do thw leaves ahve to die again and the flowers?Why do the birds go back wherte it’s wamr why do things have to change?I must own every song that ever came out in the fifties sixties seventies right on up but the ones I loved allot was the Bee Bop and also my long hair musci with tskycowski,betoveen,Hamlet,Enrico Carouso,Jan Peirce,Elmer Gluck, Mable Garrison,It is when I hear these great singers that tears flow down my face for I know my dancing was one of my most important arts I ever knew,and I danced all night at dance marathons and won a few to:) I miss dancing and tap alsoThe walks home and the hot hogs from cony Island hot dog stands or the root beer stand. I try not to think about the past it only greaves my heart as I lost my sister back in those days and miss here allot I do see her face and smile so I try not to rememnice like I use to.My question to you is this,Do you suppose that McBeth when he was on his latter days did ever regreat killing the king Duncon?

Leave a Reply

