A Walk in the Woods

What is it about being in the woods that is so refreshing and that causes us to be so refreshed?  Is it the coolness as a result of the canopy high above?  It is the smells of the rich earth and the smell of the damp humus?  Is it the quietness that speaks to our souls?

I don’t know.  My guess is that it’s all of the above and more.

I shot this picture on Wednesday near Blue Ridge, GA.  It was toward the start of the trail that leads up to Twin Falls.  In the next few days, I’ll share some other pictures with you of sites along the way to the falls, and then a shot or two of the falls themselves.

It was a healing journey into the woods, one much needed…

The woods beckon to us…

ON THIS DAY IN HISTORY: in 1833, with a population of under 200 persons, Chicago, Illinois became incorporated as a village.

TRIVIA FOR TODAY: in 625 BC, metal coins replaced grain as a means of exchange in Greece.  There were at least two major benefits: 1) the metal coins (with the picture of a sheaf of grain stamped into the metal) were much lighter to carry than the grain; 2) the metal coins didn’t spoil and rot as grain is prone to do.

 

One thought on “A Walk in the Woods”

  1. Wow this week it was Tuesday I went in the woods to be alone and it was along the river banks a very slim and narrow trail that led right into the sun shine then in to the path of the lake where the opening was so beautiful but on my way at the sunshine area the smell of something very sweet was there and the silence was so very nice:) When I got to the clearing small fish were in schools swimming around the area.I was gone quite a long time enough for my husband to come and get me because he didn’t see me for at least a hour,as we left the area and decided it was a great place to fish some day he did not smell that sweet smell I smelled again in the sunshine area we passed Boy it was strong and sweet,but he never smelled it,strange hah?

Leave a Reply

