Indian Dance

I am NOT a dancer.  Just ask my wife.  She’ll be the first to tell you.  I can’t dance AT ALL.

I grew up in a very legalistic church, one where dancing was frowned upon.  I mean, dancing was the work of the devil if you believed what they told you, and at that time, I did.  It didn’t help that my dad was the minister, either.  Everyone knows that preacher’s kids are put under a microscope so I always had to be “good”.

So, maybe it is more accurate to say that I never learned to dance.  I suspect that I could dance if I ever got over being so self-conscious about it.  But I am convinced that I look like a total fool when I get out on a dance floor.  My wife hates that…she loves to dance, and she will practically beg me to dance with her when we go to a wedding or a high school reunion or such…but I just can’t get myself past that hurdle of being so self-conscious.

One of the things that I really enjoyed in India was the dancing.  The movement of the dancers was so elegant and precise…very exacting in the movement of their hands, feet, head, neck, faces, etc.  It was mesmerizing.  I could have watched it all day long.  That explains why I took so many pictures of the dancing when I was there.

This young girl was a student at one of the schools we visited in the Bangalore area.  She was really talented!  I believe I heard that she teaches dance lessons now to others.  I can believe it!  It was beautiful to watch.

A young Dalit girl performing a traditional dance in Bangalore, India

ON THIS DAY IN HISTORY: in 1945, the first passenger car built since February 1942 rolled off the production line at the Ford Motor Company in Detroit.  Manufacturing of cars had ceased due to demands for wartime production of military vehicles.

TRIVIA FOR TODAY: there are no rivers or lakes in Bermuda, so residents must use rainwater.

One thought on “Indian Dance

  1. Sure you can dance I know you can because you already have the rhythm so you just need to know how to use it. You can humanize in choir so all you need to do is to, get your feet to do the same. Train you feet to move to the beats per measure and swing your hips side to side and always move your hands back or up and down keep them to the same rhythm of the music concentrate and then when your good you won’t need to concentrate it will be a second nature:) I’ll bet you can do the twist right??

    Your right about their clothes and dancing they are greeting you to their county:)

Leave a Reply

