Mooving Along

So, today I really start to share pictures from my India adventure.  I went there, as I said before, with a group of journalists/PR folks to learn about the Dalit people’s of India and how it relates to the movie that will be coming out next spring, titled Not Today, which is about human trafficking – but especially human trafficking in India involving young Dalit girls and women.

I saw things there that were moving in every way – some were inspiring, others were disgusting, some were beautiful while other things were just downright ugly.  Today, I’m starting with an easy picture to deal with…sort of the get mooving on the right foot, so to speak.

We stopped in a village after visiting a local school of Dalit children and we walked down a dirt street.  Eventually we came to a place where women were weaving baskets.  It was fascinating to watch – and I’ll share more about that kind of thing later on.

But as I walked back from watching them make baskets, I noticed a young calf laying on the front porch/step of a house.  It was quite a cute animal and I fired off several shots (I took over 1000 pictures while I was there, but don’t worry – I won’t be sharing all of them with you!).  This was one heck of a photogenic young animal.  I loved the way his picture turned out.  And he’s even wearing ‘bling’!

I must confess, when I looked at this picture I could scarcely believe I’d taken it…I thought it was that good.  You should see it in full resolution…he’s a beautiful creature!  I have to say that I think this is one of the best pictures I’ve taken.  I think I’ll call this fellow Mooooris.

A young calf sitting on the front porch step of a village house in India.

ON THIS DAY IN HISTORY: in 1284, the Pied Piper of Hamlin lured 130 children away from their homes.  They were never seen again.  Was he a serial killer?  Did he sell them into some sort of slavery?  No one really seems to know…

TRIVIA FOR TODAY:  actress Meg Tilly was cast as Mozart’s young wife, Constanze, in the acclaimed film Amadeus (1984). Soon after filming began, she broke her ankle playing soccer. Elizabeth Berridge replaced her.  Talk about an unlucky break…(sorry, couldn’t resist that one!)

One thought on “Mooving Along

Leave a Reply

