Bogging Down With the Moose

The year was 2004 and we were back in Maine on vacation.  I say “back” because we’d lived in Maine for a short time in early 2003.  The day we moved in (early February) it was -14 degrees.  I loved it!!!  But, work didn’t materialize and our dream of living in the woods of Maine for the rest of our lives didn’t materialize either.  Plus, we were missing our first grandchild, Kailani, so badly that when I had work present itself to me back in California, we packed up the U-Haul and moved to Cloverdale, CA in the northern California county of Sonoma, smack in the middle of wine country.

But this picture was taken when we were on vacation in 2004.  We so loved Maine that we did a bit of real estate shopping again, thinking that perhaps we’d buy a lot (we looked at several –  one in particular, on Big Roach Pond, was lovely!) and move back to Maine at some point in the future.  We didn’t buy one, though.  But we did go out to a bog one evening as the sun was setting.  We’d been told it was a great place to watch for moose who frequented the area in the evenings.  It was lovely, getting cool by the time the sun went down, and the fog was creeping over the bog like Arthur Conan-Doyle’s Hound of the Baskervilles.  (I wasn’t afraid of any hounds, but was wary of moose or bear that might materialze out of the fog!  We were well out into the back country northeast of Moosehead Lake.)  It was so serene and beautiful.  I almost cried when we drove away.  We didn’t see any moose that night, but we often saw them in Maine, which has more moose per square mile than any other state, including Alaska.

I’m ready to go back to the bog again and look for moose!

Looking for moose on a summer evening at a bog in Maine, 2004

ON THIS DAY IN HISTORY: in 1431, Joan of Arc was burned at the stake after being condemned as a heretic.  She was later canonized by Pope Benedict XV in 1920.  How a few years sometimes change things!

TRIVIA FOR TODAY: Nabisco bakes about 18 billion Cheese Nip Crackers each year, enough to cover 3,500 football fields.  If laid end to end, these crackers would extend over 282,000 miles – farther than the distance from the earth to the moon!  Crackers, anyone?

3 thoughts on “Bogging Down With the Moose

  1. Well, first of all you were to far up north and it can get colder then where we are.Also the moose are everywhere but up north they are more frequent and out in the roads so you gotta watch your watch and not go to near when they start to migrate every year.I can’t stand to much heat and it isn’t good for you either.Way down in the swamps it is survival to the fullest as they hunt gators and Moose are much more docile:) I was however chased by two in mating season and dropped my fishing pole and even got out of my waders and left them on the railroad tracks so I could run faster. I never went back to that spot ever again;( By the time I got to my car my feet were swollen and cut up from the stones on the
    tracks.OUCH! AH! Those were the days! NOT! We do have beautiful eagles here and Ospreys that build their nests way up in the top of trees and fish like crazy:)At least the Moose don’t get to chase them HA!

    1. Sounds like quite an adventure you had. I always was very careful driving, especially in the early morning or late afternoon/evening because of moose coming out of the woods onto the road.

      What great memories I have of Maine!

      G

  2. You can make more memories you know!!!! I once hit two dear at one time playing my radio to the song “Shake it up Baby!! Twist and shout!! I am not kidding either and the guy in the truck was waiting and called out to me “are you ok”? I was all shook up!There’s dear here::) Curt hit a 6point buck on his way to work one morning and it took the front end and the passengers door etc. The police took it to give to the food pantry, Thank God for that Romans:8:28

Leave a Reply

