Who Ya Gonna Trust?

Let’s see how many of you are old enough to remember the jingle that went along with the company whose product is the theme for today’s picture.  I can hear it in my head as clearly as if I were a kid sitting in the back seat of the family car back in Iowa!!!  But, I’m not going to sing it for you or even put the words here until we see how many of you can remember it!

But, it brought up the topic of trust.  Is it just me, or is it harder and harder these days to believe anything you hear?  Who can you trust?  I used to trust the press – at one time I think they played a great role in fairness, but not anymore.  I think both sides are very guilty of slanting stories and throwing in commentary to try to persuade people instead of “report” to us.

Politicians?  We won’t EVEN go there!!!!  And while I don’t hold it against the Good Lord, we’ve seen far too many scandals among priests, pastors, rabbis and imam’s to have much confidence in the human representatives of religion.  (Which, I suppose, is a bad  place to put trust anyway!)

Can you trust your neighbor?  Your investment person?  Do you think that they are also looking out for YOUR best interests?

I have a very trusting soul by nature, but I’m growing less trusting by the day.  And that’s a sad commentary on America…and on humanity as a whole.

Today’s picture is a bit of Americana from my youth.  This sign was on the outside of a wooden building in Jonesboro, GA.

ON THIS DAY IN HISTORY: in 868, the first printed book was produced in China, consisting of 6 sheets of paper put into a roll.  It was titled, Diamond Sutra, and was a Buddhist text printed by Wang Chieh.

TRIVIA FOR TODAY: the movie, Titanic, lasted 3 hours and 14 minutes (at least in its original theatrical release version).  The actual time it took for the ship to sink: 2 hours and 40 minutes.

 

5 thoughts on “Who Ya Gonna Trust?

  1. “You can trust your car to the man who wears the star! The great big Texaco star!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Mother a towel quick! “OH! It’s new and it’s lovely”
    “It’s a Cannon Towel and I got it free” Remember that one:) You got a towel in a box of detergent?, today your lucky if you get half the box you paid for:)

Leave a Reply

