Candles in the Wind

I remember how stunned I was when news came across the airwaves about the death of Princess Diana.  I really wondered if it could be true.  She was so vivacious and seemingly was a person who really cared about kids and causes that affected them.  She was taken from us too early, but I supposed that’s true of all the good ones, right?

One of the most moving parts of her funeral was when Elton John sang, “Candle in the Wind.”  Though the song was written about Marilyn Monroe and her untimely death, he dedicated the song to Diana in Westminster Cathedral when he sang and played it during her service.  The words to the chorus go like this:

“And it seems to me you lived your life
Like a candle in the wind
Never knowing who to cling to
When the rain set in
And I would have liked to have known you
But I was just a kid
Your candle burned out long before
Your legend ever did.”

I saw this building last Saturday.  I believe it is the Federal Reserve Bank here in Atlanta.  The grounds are well-kept and colored with flowers and grass and shade from the trees on the property.  Out front are these huge pillars, supporting nothing…just standing there.  I don’t know if they ever had a purpose or not, or if they were just ornamental.  Regardless, I thought they looked like huge candlesticks and I thought of “Candle in the Wind” when I took this shot.

Candles in the wind?

ON THIS DAY IN HISTORY: in 1933, the U.S. Mint came under the leadership of a woman for the very first time.  Her name was Nelly Ross.

TRIVIA FOR TODAY: part of the answer is 179,584.  The question is: what country has the largest number of islands in the world?  The answer to that part of the question may surprise you: Norway..

2 thoughts on “Candles in the Wind

Leave a Reply

