Flower or Weed?

I don’t claim to have learned very much in life, nor to have learned my lessons well.  It seems that we have a belief that as we get older, we get “wiser” and people may come to you for some of that “wisdom” that has accumulated through the years.  I must say, I feel ill equipped to dispense anything close to “wisdom” to anyone!  If there is any wisdom that I have accumulated in my time on this cosmic sphere it would be this: I now realize how little I know about anything.

Once there was a time when I felt I was pretty smart, astute…that I had a handle on things.  What foolishness that is!  Things are not always what they seem, and our perspective on things is what often makes the difference in whether they turn out to be good things or bad things in terms of our lives and existence.  An injury may turn a career in another direction.  An accident can short-circuit many an aspiration. Yet are those things necessarily bad?  No, I don’t think so.  So much of life is what we choose to make of it, and of the things that happen to us in our lifetimes.

So, speaking of perspective.  What is the difference between a flower and a weed?  Today’s photo is one I shot early this week, macro-enabled (but without my tripod which was in the trunk of the car with my wife and her friend as they galloped all over Georgia) and tonight I want to know what you think: is this a flower, or is this a week?  I’ll let you know tomorrow what it is…

Flower or weed? What do you think it is?

ON THIS DAY IN HISTORY: in 1865, John Wilkes Booth died in a shoot-out with federal troops 11 days after he assassinated President Lincoln.

TRIVIA FOR TODAY: you probably always wondered about this one…a conveyor printing press is used to print the tiny white M’s on each M&M candy.  Because the peanut sizes vary, the press must be constantly adjusted when printing on peanut M&M’s to keep from crushing the peanut candies.  It’s much easier on the same-sized plain chocolate ones.

4 thoughts on “Flower or Weed?

  1. OH! When I look at your yellow kinda flower I want to pull each petal off and say He loves me, He loves me not,He loves me,He loves me not!!!! Is the yellow kinda flower a dandi lion of some sort???? Last year you had me pulling off the petals of the dandylions all over the place up here and they did say___________! AHAH! I checked it out just to let you know, I know I spelt it wrong:) I ain’t claiming any glamore to my grammer!

Leave a Reply

