Purple Passion

Isn’t it strange how people like such different things?  For example, some folks who can otherwise seem to be very intelligent and sensible, like to eat liver and onions.  Or tripe.  or raw oysters.  Y-U-C-K!!!!  Why should anyone eat such things when there’s perfectly good steak, turkey, chicken, lobster or Snickers to eat?

Then, there are those who like rap music (and I use that last wordvery loosely!)  There is just no comparison when it comes to rap music and the great rock and roll of the late ’60’s and early ’70’s.  Or to the great classical works of Mozart, Beethoven, Bach, etc.  In my perfectly formed opinion, rap music doesn’t even deserve to be mentioned along those other kinds of music, so I’ll stop now.

Even more intriguing is how people have favorite colors.  My 3-year old granddaughter informed me today, in case I’d forgotten, that her favorite colors are pink and yellow.  She told me that her dad’s favorite color is green (which I never knew, and he’s my youngest son!)  I asked her what her Pop-pop’s favorite color was, and she immediately knew the right answer: purple!  My second favorite is orange.  Aren’t we humans peculiar things?

At the Blue Willow, I didn’t see any blue willows, but I did see these purple flowers.  Since purple is my favorite color, I couldn’t resist.

ON THIS DAY IN HISTORY: in 1986, at 1:23 a.m. in Pripyat, Ukraine, the Chernobyl atomic power station exploded.  In an attempt to save the 100,000 people living in the area from radiation poisoning, a 300-square mile area was evacuated.  Still, 31 died outright and unknown thousands were exposed as radioactive materials spread around the world, carried by atmospheric winds.  It’s hard to believe it has been 26 years since it happened!

TRIVIA FOR TODAY:  Texas reportedly grows more roses than are grown in any foreign country.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

