Many Glacier…Much Beauty

I know that we’re new to the east coast and so I’m not qualified to make comparisons between the eastern scenery and western scenery, but I’m going to do it anyway.

So far, I’ve not found anything on the east coast that can really compare to the Rockies or Sierras, and I doubt that I shall because the “mountains” in the east would be considered foothills in the west.  Yellowstone, Yosemite, Olympic, Grand Canyon, King’s Canyon, Cascades, Zion, Arches, the Tetons, Rocky  Mountain National Park – all these are truly spectacular.  My favorite of all, as I’ve said before, is Glacier National Park.  Sweeping mountain vistas, towering, jagged, snow-covered peaks well into or through the summer – there’s just nothing to match it in the east (at least not that I’ve seen yet).  I miss the western scenery, and now we live so far from it that we can’t just hop in the car for a road trip to see it.

Today’s photo was taken a number of years ago on the eastern side of Glacier National Park, looking westward.  It is at a place called Many Glacier and it was nearing sunset, but there was a violent electrical storm going on to our left from the picture.  Still, the setting sun behind the ridges to the west was spectacular and reflected beautifully in the lake.  I don’t think that I’ll ever forget the feeling in the air, the smell of the ozone from the lightning that was hammering away on the peaks out of the picture to the left.  It was glorious.  I wonder if I will ever see it again.  One can hope…

Sunset and storm at Many Glacier, Glacier National Park, Montana

ON THIS DAY IN HISTORY: the quirky movie, Bennie and Joon, opened across the country.  Starring Johnny Depp, Mary Stuart Masterson, Aidan Quinn and Juliette Moore, the movie earned Depp a Golden Globe for his performance.

TRIVIA FOR TODAY: most llamas instinctively make good guardians for livestock.

 

Leave a Reply

