A Sucker Born Every Minute

It was P.T. Barnum, I believe, who said “There’s a sucker born every minute!”  Bearded ladies, alligator man, etc.  That’s what he was referring to.

My wife and I really enjoy road trips.  I am reminded of the movie, Michael, where John Travolta plays the archangel Michael.  There are many aspects of his portrayal of Michael that I really don’t like, but it was still an engaging movie in other ways.  As they head from Iowa back to the big city (Chicago, if memory serves), they set out in a station wagon and Michael discovers that if they take a less direct route, they can see the world’s largest frying pan, the world’s largest ball of twine, etc.

I can identify with those things.  They pique my interest…and that’s the point, isn’t it?  To get “suckers” like me to go pay good money to see something may or may not be real, or may or may not really be the biggest frying pan in the world.

On a recent trip up from the Atlanta area to the northern part of Georgia, my wife and I saw a billboard that said, “World Largest Popcorn Store” and we were hooked.  We both love popcorn anyway and since we weren’t on a timeline, we figured, “Why not?”  So, we pulled off the freeway and went to see the World’s Largest Popcorn Store.

Well, what can I say?  Today’s photo shows you the store.  There are 2 parts to it: one part where you buy popcorn and “souvenirs” that include fancy popcorn bags, tins for holding popcorn, and a couple hundred different flavors of popcorn.  The other side (the the right in the picture) is a popcorn factory of sorts, I guess.  We didn’t go in that side.

I don’t know if it’s the biggest popcorn store in the world or not, but we went in, but the line at the sampling counter and register was so long we left without tasting a single kernel of the popped marvel.

Oh, well.  Like Barnum said, “There’s a sucker born every minute.”  He must have been thinking of me.

By the way, that’s my lovely bride in the picture with her palms turned upward.  I don’t think she was saying, “Here we are!  We’ve arrived!” and much as she was saying, “Huh?  This is the world’s largest popcorn store?  What gives?”

ON THIS DAY IN HISTORY: this is one I’ll share probably every year on this date – the anniversary of Abraham Lincoln’s assassination by John Wilkes Booth in 1865.

TRIVIA FOR TODAY:  Zachary Taylor, a former professional soldier who became president of the US, never voted in his life – not even in the election when he won the presidency.

 

Leave a Reply

