Wade in the Water

What is it about children that has such a fascination with water?  I confess that I don’t quite get it.  I wonder if I was that way as a child.  I know I liked to get into boats and ride on the lake.  I guess I loved going to the swimming pool in Jefferson, Iowa.  It was a real treat for us farm kids to be able to get anywhere that the closest living being to you wasn’t a pig or cow or sheep or chicken.  There was some great candy at the pool snack shack, too.  I don’t remember what it was called, but it was like a rainbow, and it seems like it was about a foot long (probably was much shorter, but you know how everything seems bigger when you’re a kid), and I loved getting one of those!

When our oldest son, Doug, was just a wee one (about 4 months old, I’d guess), we moved to Asheville, NC.  We didn’t live there long, but fall was coming on and we took a drive up into the Blue Ridge mountains on the Blue Ridge Highway.  The leaves were awash in color and it was beautiful, but cold.  We still got out of the car when we came to a waterfall, and little Doug went right for the water.  He even sat in it in his diaper, seemingly oblivous to how cold the water in the pool of the waterfall was.

This past Sunday the weather was warm and after Easter services, I went with our youngest son and his family to a local park where Tim and his oldest little girl went wading in the Chatahoochee River that flows along the park border.  I couldn’t help but take this photo of my granddaughter’s feet in the water.  It almost looks like she’s walking on top of it.  I tried that many times as a child, fascinated by the story of Peter walking on the water with Jesus.  I never succeeded…not yet.  But I still have hopes that someday, it will come true!

But for now, I’m content to watch my grand kids wade in the water.  I always loved that old spiritual “Wade in the Water”…who knows?  Maybe I’ll roll up my pant legs next time and get my feet wet, too!

Wade in, wade in, wade in, wade in...wade in the water chillen'...

ON THIS DAY IN HISTORY: in 1790, the first circumnavigation of the globe by an American vessel came to a conclusion.  Three years earlier, Captain Robert Gray left Boston, sailed to the Pacific Northwest, then on to China and from there around the rest of the world.

TRIVIA FOR TODAY: more than 260,000 people are buried at Arlington, which conducts approximately 5400 burials each year.  Funerals (internments and inurnments) average 20 a day.  Arlington has the second-largest number of people buried of any national cemetery in the US.  The largest of the 130-some national cemeteries is Calverton, located near Farmingdale, NY on Long Island.  That cemetery conducts more than 7000 burials each year.

Leave a Reply

