A Georgia Beauty

In downtown Marietta, Georgia, is an old, historic square.  There is a fountain in the center and flowers surrounding the center of the park where the fountain is found.

There are times when I get tired of shooting pictures of flowers.  There are times when I can’t resist shooting them.  Some of the flowers yesterday were very pretty and photogenic.  Flowers, however, are a challenge to shoot.  I’ve not quite got it figured out yet, but I hope to get better.  Still, there is something about a beautiful flower that just makes us feel better about life, isn’t there?  Perhaps it is a reminder that there is beauty in the world if only we take the time to look at it and appreciate it.  I fear that far too often we get so busy that we don’t even take the time to see the beauty that is all around us.  And we are diminished because of it.

Life in the Georgia sun

ON THIS DAY IN HISTORY: in 1935, Herman Goering established the German air force, the Luftwaffe.

TRIVIA FOR TODAY: greater Tokyo contains less than 4% of Japan’s land area but fully 25% of its population.

One thought on “A Georgia Beauty

  1. Today Lord, let me see
    Today, let me see the beauty of God in His creation; in the flowing green of spring grasses; in the whispered scent of new beginnings in the opening leaves; in the dew that sparkles on the pine needle and shines on the buds of flowers in bud. Today Lord, let me appreciate the sun playing through the empty boughs; let me taste the fragrance of rain and know, peace.

    Time goes so fast; dawn is conceived and birthed before I rise; its pageantry and wonder filling the skies with colors singing alive the morning. Birds on the wires and flitting among the bushes, merrily praise their Creator. Today Lord, let me have moments where I pause to look at the mountains and see in them, the silence of strength. Today, let me stand beside a river and watch with wonder the roll of water over rock and stone and laugh at the fish playing under rocks and roots.

    Today, let me not forget to thank the Lord for the beauty of all I see. Even in the days of storms, where the weather is cold and the air dreary, there is a beauty untold. The soft rain showers or the mighty roar of thunderstorms; the pelting of hail or the willow down of snow falling; each one reminds me that God IS.

    In the quiet of noon, let me find solace to pray and give thanks to God for this new day. Let me be like the child who runs and plays in the sun; chasing the clouds, running after butterflies, playing with dandelions; let me o Lord, today, have this Joy that is meant for all of us, through the grace of your love for us.

    Today, let me not carry around the burden of strife and condemnation; let me not wonder at gossip or listen to it. Let my heart be free to love as you have loved me. Let me share with another encouraging words, words that lift up their spirits. Today Lord, let me forget myself for a moment and consider the pain of another and share with them the hope of Jesus Christ.

    God first loved us, not for anything we have done or will do, but His love first was given us, that we might love Him. In the fullness of time, when the seasons had fully come and gone, God sent His Son, Jesus to show us the way to the Father. His love is the Light that shines upon us. Today Lord, let me remember these things as I listen to the sounds of day and watch night come in the rising of the evening stars. Let me remember that peace is found in love and love comes from God for God is love.

    Today, let me be a kinder, gentler, more compassionate friend, lover and spouse. Let me take breaths before I retort in anger, let me forgive easily and forget quickly. Let me o Lord, be mindful of your goodness in every step I take and remembering this, consider myself not better than another, but a brother or a sister and be for them, a shoulder to lean on as they search for peace and find it in Christ.

    Let me be a shelter of mercy as I have found mercy under your Mighty Wings. Jesus, help me today to look at life with the eyes of new life. Create in me a new heart of joy and love, that I may show the world, your love through me. Amen.

Leave a Reply

