Water Logged

I can scarcely believe it, but we’ve not had any rain since Friday night!!!  Is this a new record?  I think that the dog can even go out in the back yard and not get her feet all, well, red…from the soggy Georgia clay!  It’s been lovely the past few days, even if it has been a bit on the cool side.

Sunday afternoon, as I noted in a post a couple of days ago, we went to the alpine town of Helen in the Georgia mountains.  Not far from the town is a state park, Unicoi State Park.  Just on the outside of that park (I think) is a place called Anna Ruby Falls.  We’d tromped all over Helen while Laurel visited shops, so now it was my turn (oh, yeah OK, so I did take pictures in the town, too).  We debated on whether to go on up to see the state park and falls because it was about 2 and we had a 1-1/2 hour drive back home.  But in the end, we decided to go, and we’re glad we did.

At Anna Ruby falls, you leave the parking lot and have the stream along  your right hand side for part of the way going up into the hills towards the falls, then you cross a bridge and it’s on the left.  At the top, there are 3 parts to the falls (I’ll show a picture of that one of the days).  Now when one is confronted with pretty falls, the tendency is to just shoot the “big picture.”  (I know, I’ve done it many times!)  One of the things I’m trying to do is to gain a greater awareness, even in such a setting, of taking pictures of smaller bits of the “big picture” – things that would otherwise go unnoticed.  That’s how I got today’s picture.

This is just a shot of a very tiny part of the falls area, but I liked the look of the brush/leaves/green on the rock, and the water spilling past it on both sides.  The stick that’s stuck is probably so waterlogged that it weighs more than a neutron star, but I couldn’t reach it to try to move it, nor did I wish to do so.  “Splish splash I was takin’ a bath…”

A watery scene from Anna Ruby Falls, GA

ON THIS DAY IN HISTORY: I’ve been told that today is the 100th birthday of the Oreo cookie.  If I had one, I’d eat it right now!  (But I’d dunk it in milk first, how about you?)

TRIVIA FOR TODAY: because of their long life-span and their constant bearing of needles, evergreens are the most susceptible of all trees to air pollution.

 

Leave a Reply

